Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    46

    Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    Is there a way to switch from GNOME to KDE, while keeping Compiz and not reinstalling with Kubuntu?
    The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    YES, you can install KDE on Ubuntu without installing Kubuntu
    just open the terminal and type:
    sudo apt-get install kde

    it will download it from the internet,so make sure you have an internet connection, after setup is finished.
    you can then choose KDE or GNOME at the login screen.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Beans
    80
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    Now that hardy is out, I am using Gnome in 8.04

    If I were to install KDE 4.0.2 or what ever it is, would the process be the same as above?

    What would be the ramifications for stability and package updates? Would it cause the system to become unstable to use 2 desktop environments or not?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    25

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    They can be installed next to one another with out a great degradation IMHO. They are complied to work in the Ubuntu universe so that the underlying libraries and such aren't different versions. You can get in to trouble if you start installing bleeding edge software that requires a brand new library for the compile which can cause problems with backward compatibility. Installing things just from Ubuntu repos should keep one safe.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    483
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by marwansherin View Post
    YES, you can install KDE on Ubuntu without installing Kubuntu
    just open the terminal and type:
    sudo apt-get install kde

    it will download it from the internet,so make sure you have an internet connection, after setup is finished.
    you can then choose KDE or GNOME at the login screen.
    Could be wrong, but I think your better off with sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop.

    Just typing KDE would install the stock KDE, but I think Kubuntu-desktop meta package is ubuntu specific.

    Russo
    Macbook Pro C2D
    Ubuntu 8.04

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Utah
    Beans
    80
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    for hardy 8.04 will that install the kubuntu desktop KDE 4.0.0.2 or what ever kde 4 is?

    More than anything I want to give it a test run. I have 4-5 hard drives, but dont feel like setting up a partition just to run the Kubuntu desktop, already had enough nightmares getting vista installed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    You can get the pkg from synaptic as well, it's under KDE. That is what I did, and I have not had any problems yet. (It has only been a few weeks though).

    I think you will have to wait for the official release of Hardy before you get KDE 4. (You might get it sooner if you go to settings -> repositories -> updates(tab) then enable pre-release, but I don't know that for sure. If anybody knows better, feel free to correct me on this).

    Related Question: Does any one know how I can configure the login script so that some users can start GNOME and others start KDE by default? My whole family uses the same computer, and we don't all like the same DE.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    483
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by Uber-Noob View Post
    You can get the pkg from synaptic as well, it's under KDE. That is what I did, and I have not had any problems yet. (It has only been a few weeks though).

    I think you will have to wait for the official release of Hardy before you get KDE 4. (You might get it sooner if you go to settings -> repositories -> updates(tab) then enable pre-release, but I don't know that for sure. If anybody knows better, feel free to correct me on this).

    Related Question: Does any one know how I can configure the login script so that some users can start GNOME and others start KDE by default? My whole family uses the same computer, and we don't all like the same DE.
    kubuntu-desktop metapackage, I'm fairly certain, will install the supported kubuntu desktop, so KDE 3.5. you can install KDE 4 now by executing

    sudo apt-get install kde4

    However, I very much recommend you "Try Out" kde4 via the kubuntu remix CD Live. After a few days of having it installed, I found it to be really cool, but really buggy. If your mileage varies, then by all means!

    Just a word of advice.

    Russo
    Macbook Pro C2D
    Ubuntu 8.04

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    91
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    If you want to get the equivalent desktop to what you would get with a fresh kubuntu install you want to install the kubuntu-desktop package for KDE3.5 If you want KDE4 you need to install the kubuntu-kde4-desktop package. Installing only kde or kde4 will not give you the full desktop experience.

    I've tried KDE4 a few days ago. It is crashy and has much less functionality than KDE3.5. (I'm talking about *actual* functionality, not potential. KDE4 has more potential but it is mainly theoretical at this point.) I've searched in forums where long time KDE users were giving their opinion of KDE4 and most are saying people should wait for 4.1 at the very least.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Beans
    550
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Switching from GNOME to KDE in Ubuntu

    I did the exact same thing for gusty KDE ontop of Ubuntu gnome, was the worst thing i ever did, all the little things like sounds in programs like k3b no longer worked ( unless i deleted the .gnome dirctory ) and the wireless profile manager really got confused with settings in kde and gnome.

    If you really want both desktops ( which is more work also,learning where things are in both gets confusing ) partition and install KDE and speratly gnome and then perhaps try sharing the files for things like photos,music, just leave the settings alone to each desktop env.
    Thanks:
    Using a Toshiba A300-21H ,3GB ram,Intel Core2Duo 2Ghz,Mobile Intel® GMA 4500MHD,intel wifi link 5100. Tux wants you!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •