Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: HOWTO: Set up Full Disk Encryption in a Dual Boot System

Beans

HOWTO: Set up Full Disk Encryption in a Dual Boot System

Hi there, this is my first tutorial, so I apologise if it's a little rough around the edges.

What This Covers

This tutorial will allow you to create a basic dual boot system, using only free open source software, which is fully encrypted (apart from a boot partitioin).

I am by no means an encryption expert, so please do not take anything I say as cannon.

At the end of this tutorial, you will have a system in which both windows and ubuntu are completely encrypted, including swap space, the windows page file, and hibernation files.

Warnings

I have only tired this on a VMware virtual machine, and my HP 530 laptop. I cannot guarantee it will work on any computer.

Also, this is not bulletproof. It is difficult to change the LUKS passphrase, and does not support keyfiles. You will therefore have to rely upon a very strong passphrase, which cannot change.

Also, your boot files will not be encrypted. There are ways around this; you can save them to a USB key, and take that with you, or only mount your boot partition as read only. If you choose the USB option, you must allow your computer to boot from USB, which could allow an attacker to boot a malicious opperating system from a USB key. If you choose the read only option, an attacker can still modify your boot files if they are sufficiently motivated, and it will be difficult to update your kernel.

At the end of the day, you have to decide where to comprimise. As a proof of concept, my set up uses a boot partition mounted read/write.

Ok, thats the nagging over, on to the procedure

1. Install Windows XP

This *should* work with vista, but I've not tested it.

2. Install ubuntu.