Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 83

Thread: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    777
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Quote Originally Posted by bleers View Post
    devilspie really is great and works fine with Firefox etc.

    problem with Radrails:
    But I can't get a program called Radrails (IDE for Rails) to go to a specific workspace.
    Do you've any suggestions?

    my radrails.ds file in $HOME/.devilspie:

    (if (is (application_name) "radrails") (set_workspace 2))

    That seems like it should work. Are you sure the application name is really "radrails"?
    Code:
    killall devilspie
    devilspie -d
    devilspie should now print debug information to your terminal. Start radrails and see if that is the correct application_name. I think it is case-sensitive too.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    the nethelands
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Quote Originally Posted by _jason View Post
    That seems like it should work. Are you sure the application name is really "radrails"?
    Code:
    killall devilspie
    devilspie -d
    devilspie should now print debug information to your terminal. Start radrails and see if that is the correct application_name. I think it is case-sensitive too.
    solved it. you're right _jason!
    with the debug (-d) option I was able to see the "real devilspie" application name.. it is: RadRails.
    So edited my radrails.ds file with this app.name. great

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Liechtenstein
    Beans
    27

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    I've started using ubuntu some time ago, so I'm far, far away from being an expert, so it might not be surprising that I seem to fail configuring devilspie for my needs.

    Actually I fail on a very basic level, and I have no idea why so...

    1. of all: Yes devilspie is working (I tried the gmail example out of the first post in this thread)

    So here's my problem:
    I want firefox to open only in workspace 3. what I've tried is:

    Code:
    (if
     (matches (window_name) "^*Firefox*$")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    I've also tried

    Code:
    (if
     (is (application_name) "Firefox")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    And I inserted for "Firefox" various other possibilities, such as "firefox-bin", "Firefox-bin", "firefox", "Gecko" - none of them worked...

    What am I doing wrong?

    - Excuse my lack of correct english, there. (it's not my native language...)

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    the nethelands
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Hi Mozork,

    As _Jason suggested me (to see the real application_name) in a previous post.
    >> I quote _Jason's:
    $ killall devilspie
    $ devilspie -d

    devilspie should now print debug information to your terminal. Start radrails and see if that is the correct application_name. I think it is case-sensitive too.

    try, to see more options
    $ devilspie --help

    hope this helps..

    Quote Originally Posted by Mozork View Post
    I've started using ubuntu some time ago, so I'm far, far away from being an expert, so it might not be surprising that I seem to fail configuring devilspie for my needs.

    Actually I fail on a very basic level, and I have no idea why so...

    1. of all: Yes devilspie is working (I tried the gmail example out of the first post in this thread)

    So here's my problem:
    I want firefox to open only in workspace 3. what I've tried is:

    Code:
    (if
     (matches (window_name) "^*Firefox*$")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    I've also tried

    Code:
    (if
     (is (application_name) "Firefox")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    And I inserted for "Firefox" various other possibilities, such as "firefox-bin", "Firefox-bin", "firefox", "Gecko" - none of them worked...

    What am I doing wrong?

    - Excuse my lack of correct english, there. (it's not my native language...)

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Liechtenstein
    Beans
    27

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Well

    I did as you proposed and at first it seemed to work, as there was an error and after fixing it there were no more debuging errors:

    Code:
    mozork@mozbook:~$ killall devilspie
    mozork@mozbook:~$ devilspie -d
    Devil's Pie 0.17.1 starting...
    Loading /etc/devilspie
    /etc/devilspie doesn't exist
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/terminal.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/gaim.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/thunderbird.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/firefox.ds
    But sadly it did not work...

    Code:
    (if
     (is (application_name) "firefox-bin")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    Could it be because I've named my workspaces other than workspace n. Or could there be any other reason why it is not working?
    Last edited by Mozork; January 26th, 2007 at 12:16 AM.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    777
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Quote Originally Posted by Mozork View Post
    Well

    I did as you proposed and at first it seemed to work, as there was an error and after fixin git ther were no mor debuging errors:

    Code:
    mozork@mozbook:~$ killall devilspie
    mozork@mozbook:~$ devilspie -d
    Devil's Pie 0.17.1 starting...
    Loading /etc/devilspie
    /etc/devilspie doesn't exist
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/terminal.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/gaim.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/thunderbird.ds
    Loading /home/mozork/.devilspie/firefox.ds
    But sadly it did not work...

    Code:
    (if
     (is (application_name) "firefox-bin")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    Could it be because I've named my workspaces other than workspace n. Or could there be any other reason why it is not working?
    I tried what you posted earlier (should work):
    Code:
    (if
     (is (application_name) "Firefox")
     (set_workspace 3)
    )
    and it works fine here.

    Did you restart devilspie after creating the .ds file in your ~/.devilspie?

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Liechtenstein
    Beans
    27

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    Hah It worked.

    Strange... I tried this before and I also restarted devilspie... Well it works now, so I'll just be content with that.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    If someone needs more help, I found another tutorial that had a lot of examples and explanations. Very helpful.

    http://wiki.foosel.net/linux/devilspie

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    I have problems with the "set_workspace" function, which is the main reason why I got interested in this app in the first place, and I really want to get it running. When I execute Devil's Pie in the debug mode I get:

    ** (devilspie:8060): WARNING **: Workspace number 2 does not exist

    (devilspie:8060): Wnck-CRITICAL **: wnck_window_move_to_workspace: assertion `WNCK_IS_WORKSPACE (space)' failed

    Am I doing something wrong? Can it be because I have XGL+Compiz installed?
    Sorry for bumping the thread and thanks for any replays

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    21

    Re: HOWTO: Automating Gnome with Devil's Pie

    It seems to me that firefox should be called "Firefox" for matching to application_name.

    This is contrary to all the various articles I have seen on Devils Pie.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •