Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I just installed Ubuntu on my mom's laptop

Beans
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

I just installed Ubuntu on my mom's laptop

Note: This is just a story about me installing Ubuntu on my mom's laptop and my experience with Linux and Ubuntu.

I finally installed Ubuntu on my mom's laptop, and it runs with almost no problems!

I used to be sick and tired of her asking me to fix her computer when she was running Windows. I was always fixing some little stupid problem such as getting the wireless Internet to work or changing a file's extension from something wrong to the right one just to get a program to run it. You know... stupid stuff. Then, yesterday I decided to install Ubuntu onto the laptop. I had been running Linux on my desktop since July 2006 and Ubuntu since November 2006, and let me tell you... Ubuntu is the best yet. I'll admit that it turned me off during the releases of Dapper and Edgy, but the Ubuntu team never gave up and fixed as many problems as they could. Since the release of Gutsy, I've had very few problems with Ubuntu.

Anyway, the installation went very well. The only problem that I have with the laptop is that Ubuntu runs a bit slow compared to my desktop. Of course, you're comparing a Gateway laptop with a 1.2 Intel Celeron processor and 256 MB RAM to a 3.0 GHz AMD Athlon64 X2 dual core processor with 3.0 GB RAM and a 500 GB SATA 3.0 Gbit/s hard drive. Of course the laptop is gonna be slow compared to the desktop. The cool thing is that I found some tweaks for the laptop, and it runs a bit faster, but I wish it would run even faster than that. It's all cool though.