Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: [SOLVED] I think I broke Qemu

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    I took a look on the screenshots you have on your other thread (should have looked before). Your problem may be because of the version of QEMU you are using, since you use Gutsy. I had some problems booting my VM when I upgraded to Gutsy, and had to "downgrade" the qemu packages to Feisty to have QEMU working again. Take a look here about this problem: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...mu/+bug/144368.

    To do it (worked for me):
    - Removed the kqemu module:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe --remove kqemu
    - Uninstalled qemu gutsy packages:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove qemu kqemu-sources kqemu-common kqemu-modules
    - Opened my sources.list file with sudo permissions
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list &
    - Replaced every "gutsy" word with "feisty" and saved the file (don't close gedit).
    - Updated APT to use Feisty repositories:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    - Installed qemu back again from Feisty repository:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install qemu kqemu-source
    - Installed qemu again as described here (make sure you remove the actual kqemu module from memory and load the new one).
    - IMPORTANT: changed back the repositories. In the text editor (gedit), click "Undo" until you have replaced all "feisty" back to "gutsy". Save the file and close gedit.
    - Open Synaptic and click "Update". You should have some updates for qemu. Don't upgrade! Block this feisty version. Select both packages "qemu" and "kqemu-source" and in Synaptic menu select "Package"->"Block version". Now feisty qemu packages will not be upgraded.

    Then try to boot Debian again.

    If Debian still fails to boot, with the "busybox" error, even with "-no-acpi" option in QEMU, (with Feisty packages, this should not happen) then consider using VirtualBox OSE (on the repositories).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    513

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    is all of this really necassary? Are you sure there is not some .deb or something that would be easier? maybe it would be easier to use virtualbox. I never installed kqemu.
    Last edited by patrickaupperle; March 14th, 2008 at 03:24 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    On the bug page some people say that just changing the bios (bochsbios) package can make it work. It didn't for me.

    I just was trying to help you to get QEMU working. Definitely much more easy to install and use is VirtualBox.

    To install VirtualBox, from the repositories: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Vi...6676368ca69977

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    513

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    What all do I need to do to completely remove qemu? and is removing VirtuaBox easy?

    Add yourself to the vboxusers group. You can add more usernames after "whoami" if you wish.

    sudo gpasswd -a `whoami` vboxusers
    This won't effect my administration abilities, will it?
    Last edited by patrickaupperle; March 14th, 2008 at 03:53 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    Quote Originally Posted by patrickaupperle View Post
    What all do I need to do to completely remove qemu?
    To remove qemu:
    Quote Originally Posted by epimeteo View Post
    - Uninstalled qemu gutsy packages:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove qemu kqemu-sources kqemu-common kqemu-modules
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickaupperle View Post
    and is removing VirtuaBox easy?
    With the Debian package system it's very simple.
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickaupperle View Post
    This won't effect my administration abilities, will it?
    No, it just adds your username (the output of "whoami", try it) to the "vboxusers" group, so you can use/connect/whatever to the devices and VM that have only permissions to be used by users of the "vboxusers" group.

    You can have more users on your system, and not all the users should use VirtualBox. If they aren't on the "vboxusers" group, they can't use VirtualBox.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    513

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    Thankyou for everything. You have been most helpful. I am adding Virtual box right now. I will let you know of the results. Just one more question, How much ram should I give during the vm install process? Is it changeable at a later time?

    are updates ok?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by patrickaupperle; March 14th, 2008 at 03:41 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    513

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    Read the above post also.

    I installed kubuntu kde 4 hardy on virtual box. I then did a full upgrade from adept. It downloaded some 200 packages and started installing then them. At a samba update it just stopped. What should I do?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,571
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    From my testing experience with Hardy, it is presently broken, unless you have updated on a dailing basis from about Alpha 2. If you installed from, say Alpha 5 or 6, and then updated: it is broken.

    Go back to Gutsy or Feisty.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q33WB, Intel i7-4790K 4.6GHz, SSDs,32G RAM | Dell Laptop 13.3".
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP/Win10 running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    513

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    Ok, I will delete this machine and wait for final.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    638
    Distro
    Lubuntu

    Re: I think I broke Qemu

    Good to see you got it working!

    Quote Originally Posted by patrickaupperle View Post
    How much ram should I give during the vm install process? Is it changeable at a later time?

    are updates ok?
    The RAM depends on the guest OS requirements and the host available memory. It depends. Verify how much RAM the OS you're going to boot will need and give it to the guest. Virtualbox have a GUI to set the RAM of the guest. Check its options (it is explained in the wiki page):



    About the upgrades, they are OK. As long you only use the Ubuntu repositories, you're safe. If you use other external repositories, it's your responsibility.

    Quote Originally Posted by patrickaupperle View Post
    I installed kubuntu kde 4 hardy on virtual box. I then did a full upgrade from adept. It downloaded some 200 packages and started installing then them. At a samba update it just stopped. What should I do?
    That depends. As the guest is Kubuntu and the upgrade process broke, you should boot it (with a livecd if it doesn't boot) and try to fix the problem. You'll have to check the logs in /var/log/dmesg, /var/log/dpkg.log ond others (browse all the files in /var/log/ if needed) to see how much of the upgrade was accomplished, what's left to upgrade and why it stopped.

    I don't know the size of the disk you created to install Kubuntu, but probably (I'm guessing here) it wasn't enough and now the disk is full, so the upgrade process can't write changes. If that's the case, try to give a bigger size to the guest disk - for example Ubuntu uses 2.5 GB in the guest disk on install. To be able to upgrade it I must have free disk space in the guest. If the disk size is set to 4 or 5 GB, you'll have 1 or 2 GB of available space for the upgrade.

    Again, because the previous paragraph was a guess, check the log files on the guest OS to know what happen.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •