Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: CAD for Linux

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Victoria, BC, CANADA!
    Beans
    201
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: CAD for Linux

    Ohh, QCAD looks sweet, thanks for mentioning it!

    I am currently downloading it through Synpatic in Breezy, when it's done, I shall tell you guys how it works. In fact, it might even be available through the add/remove applications thingie in Breezy . . .

    Ok, I just finished installing it, QCad is available through Synaptic. I haven't a clue how to use it, but I think some time and trial and error will solve that . . .
    My System | Ubuntu Feisty Fawn (7.04) | AMD Athlon 1700+ | 1.3Gb RAM | 160 Gb HD | nVidia GeForce4 64 Mb
    V.I.S.T.A | Viruses | Infections | Spam | Trojans | Adware
    Proud to be Canadian, eh?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Venice Beach California
    Beans
    57
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: CAD for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by phen
    dunno how much money you wanna spend, but i think CATIA is available for linux, too

    there is one running on solaris (might work with other nixes): CADDS

    CATIA just ended support for Unix (HP Solaris, no linux) systems with V5r15.
    They are going windows only from now on.


    I do have it running under VmWare however it leaves something to be desired.

    This is one of those cases that I had to build a windows box to run it along with all the bells & whistles of the ultimate gamming machine, that was fun....


    There really is nothing as far as CAD for linux that can be used in a production environment, simple, very simple tasks yes.




    Wish there was a better answer

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Laval, QC, Canada
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: CAD for Linux

    for professional grade CAD and meshing software you should take a look at OpenCascade and Salome-Platform. fully compatible with linux and backed by industrial consortia for good measure. They work very well and compare quite favorably with proprietary stuff. There's also BRL-CAD (US army product) which has a flavor of its own.

    Z.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Edgy Eft Testing

    Re: CAD for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Wide
    CATIA just ended support for Unix (HP Solaris, no linux) systems with V5r15.
    They are going windows only from now on.


    I do have it running under VmWare however it leaves something to be desired.

    This is one of those cases that I had to build a windows box to run it along with all the bells & whistles of the ultimate gamming machine, that was fun....


    There really is nothing as far as CAD for linux that can be used in a production environment, simple, very simple tasks yes.




    Wish there was a better answer
    Same as Unigraphics are ending Unix support, such a shame as I have used the package in VMS, Unix and Windows and in all environments it was comparable and equally capable. Have used Catia, Inventor and ProE in Windows only and wish that they would back track to *nix.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Southampton
    Beans
    176

    Re: CAD for Linux

    Personaly Im not a great fan of QCAD, but am still in the process of testing others. Im studing to be arch technologist, so if any of you are one or an architect please tell me if you have found a good tool for making blue prints and 3d renderings of both interiors and exterirors of buildings.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Venice Beach California
    Beans
    57
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: CAD for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by eMuNiX
    Same as Unigraphics are ending Unix support, such a shame as I have used the package in VMS, Unix and Windows and in all environments it was comparable and equally capable. Have used Catia, Inventor and ProE in Windows only and wish that they would back track to *nix.

    One good thing about the new V5r16, it has native 64 bit support, really snappy for those big projects, It uses half the memory.

    Sweet

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •