Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu Overclockers

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Ubuntu Overclockers

I have been overclocking for many years but only using Ubuntu (or any Linux distro for that matter) for a few months. Having said that if your an overclocker and use Ubuntu then please feel free to post your specs.

Questions,comments and advice are all welcome and appreciated!

I suggest using a standard format such as Sysinfo to show your specs. Being a noob @ the whole Ubuntu thing any application that you may feel be is better suited please let me know.

I intend to add known overclockers utilities such as stress testing apps, benchmarks etc. that run natively or under Wine to this post so suggestions on those are also needed and welcome.

If your just going to post "overclocking is pointless" or "dangerous" or some such nonsense please keep your comments to yourself. Thank you.

I'll go first.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: Ubuntu Overclockers

Have you any links and any idea of the gains i could expect with the system spec in my sig

Beans

My main rig runs an E6600 at 3.4GHz (does 3.7, but no need), and a 8800GTS at 600/1500/1000, for a over a year now.. Been using Ubuntu for a good few months.
    [Configuration files]
    Linux IS user-friendly, it's just picky about its friends.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Quote Originally Posted by Cochise View Post
    Have you any links and any idea of the gains i could expect with the system spec in my sig
    The 3200+ Clawhammer is not known for being a great overclocker. For ideas on it's potential see this link. http://www.hwbot.org/ResultBrowseByP...cpuModelId=253

For a comprehensive guide to overclocking S754 see here. http://icrontic.com/articles/overclo...54939_platform

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

thanks for the links

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon