Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: virtualbox - query

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    virtualbox - query

    using amd 2800+. gutsy host and xp as host with 512mb and 32mb video ram.
    unable to run autocad 2004 though installation went fine. the icon shows hourglass for a while then remains silent.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: virtualbox - query

    Not clear on what you are asking.

    Are you saying you cannot get Autocad working in a Windows XP Virtualbox environment?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    1,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: virtualbox - query

    ..Gutsy as host and XP as guest you mean? Either way, 3d support for Guest OS in Virtualbox is currently nil or preliminary from what I've heard. So I doubt autocad will run.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: virtualbox - query

    sorry for typo error.
    gutsy is host and xp as guest os.
    autocad 2004 installs but does not run.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    1,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: virtualbox - query

    Autocad requires 3d capabilities which Virtualbox doesn't provide.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: virtualbox - query

    wud that imply that autocad lite - only 2D version - will run?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: virtualbox - query

    if no 3D capability in virtual box guest os, then blender for xp within guest os should not work.
    it does.

    vedute demo version runs within host os xp.

    reals 3D runs too.

    any other way?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Malaysia
    Beans
    1,570
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: virtualbox - query

    Seriously? But Direct3D totally refuses to run. Well this is news to me. =\

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: virtualbox - query

    VirtualBox itself doesn't directly use the graphics card in your machine, You could have a top of the range graphics card or an ancient one installed it makes no difference. Virtualbox only sees it's own "emulated" bog standard graphics card.

    Therefore what will run are any programs that would run on a standard Windows machine with a bog standard graphics card.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: virtualbox - query

    Installed bricscad trial version on guest os xp. it works.

    why not autocad?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •