Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New MythTV project

Beans

New MythTV project

Hi, i'm pretty new to MythTV (although not to linux), and would like to know if Mythbuntu has certain features.

- Does it have a FM radio plugin?
    - I have a usb internal memory card reader, can it detect new cards (from my digital camera mainly) being inserted and support picture browsing/slideshows?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: New MythTV project

No FM radio plugin as of yet. Thought it has been marked for future releases im pretty sure.
    MythTV itself does have picture browsing capabilities, but to get it to automatically look in the card reader everytime you plug a card in would involve some scripting

Beans

Hi,

There isn't a FM plugin and from what I've read there won't be one.

I'm currently trying to put together a simple hack that can send a radio signal over a network connection to my myth frontend. At the moment I can send a FM radio stream from a PVR-500 in my server to another PC using the following code:

frontend: nc -l -p 5000 | mplayer -
    backend: ivtv-radio -v -f 104.3 -d /dev/radio0 -c "sox -t raw -r 48000 -w -s -c2 %s -t ogg - |nc 192.168.0.2 5000"

All I need to do is wrap the backend in a perl script and write abit of xml for Myth frontend. It'll take me a while to get it going but maybe I can do it

Have a look here for a quick and dirty hack:- http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Fm_radio
    Regards
    Ian Dobson
    Last edited by ian dobson; February 19th, 2008 at 10:07 PM. Reason: added link to hack

Beans

Hi,

OK the XML was easy, now for the hard bit. Communication between the frontend and backend.

I'm thinking about just using netcat/bash for both the frontend and the backend.