Thread: Revision Control For Multimedia

Beans

Revision Control For Multimedia

As a hobby I do recordings for friends/local bands, and occasionally I will record something of my own. Often times in the recording/mixing process it would be useful to revert to previous versions, or create a fork of a project, etc.

I'd like to create a system to track my changes. In most cases we are talking about a large amount of relatively static .wav files and an ever changing project file. I'd like a system that can track changes of the project file as well as the .wav's, but taking full directory snapshots would start to consume alot of space.

I'm not a programmer, but my needs sound like something a revision control system would take care of. Do you know of any that would be useful with multimedia files? Or, am I asking too much? Should I just settle for something like rdiff-backup?

I'd really like to be able to fork and merge branches.

Thanks for any suggestions you can provide.

Beans

Re: Revision Control For Multimedia

Have you actually tried using a regular modern VCS, such as git, Bazaar or Mercurial for this purpose? If you did, what are the shortcomings that you ran into?

Beans

No, I haven't tried any available VCS's. I've been reading up on them and they sound like they should be able to fill my needs.

Is there a VCS that you can recommend? I've been reading about SVN and it doesn't seem too difficult to implement, but might be overkill for a single user setup. I'm going to look into DVCS's, but at first glance it was easier to wrap my head around a traditional client-server model.
    Last edited by Spenzer4Hire; February 14th, 2008 at 08:46 PM.

Beans

Bazaar is looking pretty straightforward for a single user. Any reason why I shouldn't use it? SVN has been around longer and has methods for resolving corruption issues, etc. Anything I should look out for?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Have you tried RCS?