Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: VMware?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    VMware?

    my friend told me i should check out VMware, but i was wondering if there was anything better and also how do this programs work.
    Sorry if this is a nuhb question, I'm new to ubuntu.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Beans
    133
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: VMware?

    Quote Originally Posted by slats View Post
    my friend told me i should check out VMware, but i was wondering if there was anything better and also how do this programs work.
    Sorry if this is a nuhb question, I'm new to ubuntu.
    This program, VMware, allows the computer user to create virtual machines inside both Linux and Windows hosts. It works as different Operational System installed inside another. Using Windows and VMware you can host Linux, DOS, Mac, etc. Using Linux and VMware you can also create "virtual machines" of any other different systems like Windows, Mac OS, DOS, and so on.
    Csat

    Doubts? Check ->here<-

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: VMware?

    so would it be possible to run garage band which is a OS X program only on my ubuntu desktop computer?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    30

    Re: VMware?

    Quote Originally Posted by slats View Post
    so would it be possible to run garage band which is a OS X program only on my ubuntu desktop computer?
    I'm not sure how the native Linux VMware works, but I know the Windows version runs the guest operating systems in a multiple tabs on the VMware window.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,435
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMware?

    Quote Originally Posted by slats View Post
    so would it be possible to run garage band which is a OS X program only on my ubuntu desktop computer?
    Garage Band only runs on OS X. You have to use Apple hardware to get that going.

    I know of no way to get that program to run under Linux or Windows. Those that wished to bought a Mac and either dual-booted Linux or ran Fusion or Parallels.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Beans
    133
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: VMware?

    Look for vmware appliances =>here<= and you will see that different applications can be placed to work under vmware, doesn't matter if installed to a Windows or Linux hosts.
    Csat

    Doubts? Check ->here<-

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,435
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMware?

    Yes, but we are talking about Apple proprietary Garage Band. Has that been made into an Appliance and placed on VMware's web site? I don't think so. <smile>
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: VMware?

    damn
    where can i get vmware?
    is there a download on this site?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Chicago
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: VMware?

    VMware works excellent on XP. I installed Fedora Core 8 and it works great! I have not tried it in Linux yet though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,435
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMware?

    Download site: vmware.com. At the same time get your free license number. You only have to do this once.

    Extract the compressed file to your home. Go into the folder created and run install. The install file will run and everything will work with your kernel. As kernels are updated you will have to re-run the config file which is in /usr/bin.

    Let us know how you are doing.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 4.0GHz, SSDs, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •