Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: VMWARE error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    21

    VMWARE error

    hi vmware work pretty good with generic kernel but won't work with compiled 1 , i get this error
    Unable to change virtual machine power state: The process exited with an error:
    End of error message.

    there is a way to fix it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Seville, Spain
    Beans
    554
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: VMWARE error

    If you installed VMware before you started using your custom kernel, you should reconfigure VMware, as it uses a kernel module for the virtualization tasks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    21

    Re: VMWARE error

    i tryed i used to

    vmware-config-network.pl

    but not worked thensudo: vmware-config.pl: command not found


    help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,401
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMWARE error

    The command, vmware-config.pl, should be in /usr/bin.

    If not there is an installation issue.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 3.8GHz, SSD, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    21

    Re: VMWARE error

    i think there is an installation issue ,. i've installe dit with repository..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,401
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMWARE error

    Well, do a "whereis vmware-config.pl" before trying other things.

    Then cd to that folder and then run:

    Code:
    sudo vmware-config.pl
    There's a chance that your vmware config is called vmware-server-config.pl.

    That could work.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 3.8GHz, SSD, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    21

    Re: VMWARE error

    vmware-config.pl does not exist but vmware-config-network.pl

    when i use to launch it :

    Making sure services for VMware Server are stopped.

    Stopping VMware services:
    Virtual machine monitor done
    Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0 done
    DHCP server on /dev/vmnet1 done
    Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 done
    DHCP server on /dev/vmnet8 done
    NAT service on /dev/vmnet8 done
    Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 done
    Virtual ethernet done

    You have already setup networking.

    Would you like to skip networking setup and keep your old settings as they are?
    (yes/no) [yes]

    Generating SSL Server Certificate

    Starting VMware services:
    Virtual machine monitor failed
    Virtual ethernet failed
    Module vmnet is not loaded. Please verify that it is loaded before
    running this script.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,401
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMWARE error

    Well, it seems if you cannot find the config script you might have to uninstall and then re-install.

    That's all I can think of. There must be a vmware-config file somewhere on your computer.

    AFAIK, you will have to completely remove the old vmware before you can install a new one.

    I got my vwware server from vmware.com. Installed on laptop and main box without troubles.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 3.8GHz, SSD, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    21

    Re: VMWARE error

    ty i'll try to get it from that website and not from repos

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Cameron Park CA USA
    Beans
    4,401
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: VMWARE error

    Okay, but do an uninstall before you try the new install. Get your license number, if you don't already have one. I've used the same one for over a year on many different installs. All worked fine and still do.
    Regards, frank, at http://yantrayoga.typepad.com/noname/
    Homebuilt Lian-Li PC-Q30X Intel i5-4670K 3.8GHz, SSD, 16G RAM | Dell laptop E1505n, netbook 10n
    Oracle VBox w/ WinXP Pro running Xara Designer, PaintShopPro, and InDesign CS.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •