Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    62

    KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Hello everyone,
    I just got a KWorld 115 so I can watch OTA HD in Myth.
    I already have a Hauppauge PVR 500 for cable tv, and it works perfectly.
    So I figured I could pick up the local HD channels with this card. At first it wasn't recognized, but then I upgraded my kernel to 2.6.24 and the card is recognized as kworld atsc 110/115, but it's not picking up any signals.
    In the capture card setup, what card type is this supposed to be?
    Can anyone help me? I searched but all of the posts seem to deal with installing firmware to get the card to be recognized. I have loaded the nxt2004 firmware into /lib/firmware/2.6.24-4-generic.
    Thanks for your help,
    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    62

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    NY's first capital
    Beans
    2,572
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Look in here


    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ghlight=kworld

    You may also need to follow these instructions to fool the system it is a 110 card

    http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Kworld_ATSC_110

    4.1 If you are using a KWorld ATSC 115, you need to force proper recognition by adding the following lines to /etc/modprobe.conf. (card=90 forces it to be treated just like an ATSC 110)
    Hope this helps
    Nothing is ever easy, but if it is difficult you must be doing it wrong.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    IT should be setup as a DVB card if you want QAM or ATSC OTA channels. What scan settings are you using? Also, have you tried using the other input on the card?
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    28

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Also make sure you have the firmware placed in the correct location. I don;t remember the location off the top of my head but I had this problem. Myth would recognize the card because I had loaded the correct module but dmesg showed an error that I never caught. When I'd scan for channels it woudl never find anything saying "no tables". If you are gettgin this then try the firmware. If not, then I'm sorry for wasting bits.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    47

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    I just had the same problem with the Kworld ATSC 115. So I put it into an older computer and it picked up lots of channels! The only difference was that I was running the I386 Kernel (also 2.6.24) on the older machine- a Pentium III and I am running the AMD64 Kernel on the newer machine. Something goes wrong with the tuning on the 2.6.24 AMD kernel. When I switched back to the 2.6.22 Kernel and added all the modlines, it also tuned fine on the AMD machine. I also put the card into my wifes AMD64 computer and it showed the same behavior.
    So, if you are using the AMD64 kernel you have two options: downgrade back to the 2.6.22, or install the I386 kernel. Of course don't forget to copy the firmware into the 2.6.22 directory if you go this route!

    Good luck!

    Stefan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    62

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Ok I'm close. I can tune a couple of channels, but the audio and video are really choppy (sometimes). Is my computer too slow?
    I got firmware dvb-fe-nxt2004.fw in /lib/firmware/2.6.24-4-generic
    I'm using an old P4 2.6ghz i think, radeon 9000, 1gb ram, 120gb hdd, pvr-500 and kworld 115.
    The card type is "Nextwave nxt200x vxb/qam"
    Signal strengths are all above 90%, s/n are all 4.6-4.8 db.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    That's borderline for HD, especially with an ATI card. Are you using the proprietary drivers. What is your CPU usage when you are viewing the channels? I have a P4 2.6 Hyperthreading with a nvidia card and nvidia binaries that can do 720p without XvMC, but only if I'm basically not running anything else that takes up CPU cycles.
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    62

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    Thanks for the replies fellas.
    Well that is not good news. I'm pretty sure I'm using restricted drivers, is that the same thing as proprietary drivers?
    How do I check CPU usage while I am watching (or trying to watch) tv?
    I confirmed it is a p4 2.66 HT. From what I read in the wiki ATI drivers don't support XvMC.
    This is a dedicated mythbuntu box, so there is nothing else going on while I am watching TV.
    What should I do?
    Thanks again,
    Jason

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Neither here nor there
    Beans
    3,290
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: KWorld ATSC 115 trouble

    That is correct, ATI doesn't support XvMC, and restricted drivers are the same as teh proprietary drivers.

    I like to use htop for process/CPU monitoring:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install htop
    then you can run htop from a terminal while you are running mythfrontend to watch something in hidef. Or you can ssh into your box from another machine and run htop. Are all the channels you can tune hidef? do you have problems with non-hidef digital channels?

    Also, what are you TV playback settings? sometimes playing with those can reduce CPU usage...
    Linux & MythTV 4 Life
    Running ubuntu on an Atom 330, Atom D525, Turion 64 X2 TL-56, X2 3800, X2 4200, X2 4600, E2180, Core i5 450M, and a Core i7-2600
    My Hardware

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •