Thread: HTPC hardware list for review

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

HTPC hardware list for review

I am still a relative newb with Linux & Ubuntu having played with distros for last year and installing a few programs; but I'm ready to take the plunge in building a HTPC box. I've searched and read enough to see that there is a high risk of making subtle mistake in H/W selection such that driver won't support some needed function; so I want to run by list by the experts here first. I have checked the incompatibility list and believe everything passes it.

First, for objectives of this box: Primary use is Mythbuntu HTPC paired with my Sony KDS-R50XBR1 SXRD TV and my Motorola DCT6412 Series III Cable STB. Will do mostly HDTV, movies (Netflix), and web surfing. I plan to connect my STB to HTPC via Firewire for capturing broadcasts that I want to burn to DVD. I also plan to dual boot and dedicate one drive to WindowsXP (or XP MCE) for some game playing (flight simulaton, racing simulation)

Second, for the H/W I've selected:

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L MB with CORE 2 DUO E4600 2.4G (800Mhz) and 2 X 1 GB DDR2 667 RAM
    XFX PVT84JUDD3 GeForce 8600GT SLI Supported Video Card
    SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD501LJ 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drives
    (2 200GB and 1 500GB)
    SAMSUNG DVD Burner with LightScribe (SATA)
    Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500 MCE (still considering HDHomeRun)
    nMEDIAPC HTPC 600SAR Case (with MCE remote)
    Antec earthwatts EA430 power supply
    ADESSO slimtouch touchpad keyboard 2.4ghz wireless

I'm most looking for feedback on MB & video card capability & compatibility with my objectives; but would also appreciate comments re: nMedia cases, HDHomeRun, and ADESSIO keyboard.