Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Linux distro recommendation for Windows users on old laptop

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Linux distro recommendation for Windows users on old laptop

I have some friends that have an old laptop (purchased in 2000 or 2001) who have become very frustrated with Windows' performance on it. I'd like to offer to install a Linux operating system on it for them, but I'm not sure what distribution would be intuitive and/or lightweight enough for them to use and be completely satisfied.

They aren't particularly computer savy, and have a young child, so don't have alot of time to learn the intricacies of a complicated operating system.

Here are the options and concerns that come to my mind:
    Xubuntu (is it light enough)
    Fluxbuntu (is it easy and stable enough)
    Gebuntu (is it stable and light enough)
    gOS (will it run on a laptop and is it stable enough)
    MEPIS antiX (is it easy enough)

I have no personal experience with any of the distributions on this list with the exception of Xubuntu, and that brief experience was when the project was first officially adopted. So any advice is greatly appreciated.

What on, or off, this list would you recommend? Keep in mind, the laptop is 7 years old, and ease of usability for a Windows user is the first priority. I will be able to install and setup the operating system for them but will not be there to administer or maintain it, they must be able to handle it on their own. Thanks!
    Linux user since January 31st, 2006.
    two ways to live :: the choice we all face

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Linux distro recommendation for Windows users on old laptop

What are the machine's specs? Some older machines are still pretty good if they have enough RAM. It depends on what they're likely to want to use it for too.

I think Gnome (Ubuntu) is the simplest to use, but maybe that's only because I'm so used to it.