Thread: Using 2 or more computers to render one image

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Using 2 or more computers to render one image

I am an architecture student and am really interested in the digital part of the field. I love to make 3d models and render them. I heard from my teacher that big companies like Pixar and other movie companies connect many supercomputers (maybe a hundered) together to render their images and movies. Now i dont have a supercomputer but i thought it would be cool if you could hook 2 computers together to increase processing speed and what would be involved there. I don't even know if this is possible without some crazy software but I was jsut curious. I recently did a render of 1 image for school and it still took 6 hours. It would be nice if I could cut down the time.
    Last edited by jrharvey; December 14th, 2007 at 03:54 AM.
    (DESKTOP)Intel Core 2 Quad 3.0 Ghz, 4G ram, nvidia 8800 GT 1G, LOTS of architecture programs
    (LAPTOP XPS 1530) Intel Core2 duo 2.2Ghz, 3G ram, Nvidia 8600m gt

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Using 2 or more computers to render one image

Never done it before, but I think Beowulf clusters are what you're looking for:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beowulf_(computing)
    http://www.beowulf.org/

From the Wikipedia article: