Thread: Can't connect to the internet with VM!!!!!!

Beans

Can't connect to the internet with VM!!!!!!

I am running Ubuntu 7.10 on a Dell laptop. I have VMWare 2.0Beta running with Windows XP Pro. Everything works except internet on the XP VM. It will browse the network. It will even resolve IP's when you do a ping and try to go to a webpage. But it won't go to a web site. It is just times out and gives me a "Page Cannot Be Displayed error". Has anybody else had this problem? If so, how do I fix it? I am fairly new to Ubuntu and definitely new to VMWare. Please help me to get this running.

Beans

Re: Can't connect to the internet with VM!!!!!!

Sorry for the trouble. I figured it out. Thanks anyway.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by cousin-it View Post
    Sorry for the trouble. I figured it out. Thanks anyway.
    I was going to try to get this same setup running today. what documentation or guide did you use. what was the solution to your problem for future users knowledge??

Thanks,
    J

Beans

i used the documentation on this post to set up my VMWare server and install windows XP Pro http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=183209

My problem with the internet was my firewall was blocking http traffic for my IP address. (duh, i should have seen that earlier)

Everything is working fine now. I got the best of both worlds.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

i used the documentation on this post to set up my VMWare server and install windows XP Pro http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=183209

My problem with the internet was my firewall was blocking http traffic for my IP address. (duh, i should have seen that earlier)

Everything is working fine now. I got the best of both worlds.
    Thanks for the response.

Does the virtual (guest) OS get it's own IP, or does i have the same IP as the host?