Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feedback on a complete HTPC system

Beans

Feedback on a complete HTPC system

Hi,

I'm currently intresting in setting up a HTPC system in a networked area. I have little to none knowledge from Linux before, some access through work and 2-3 installs of gentoo but thats about it. I also wan't to build these system to some of the family members if it works out well later so instead of going by a sepearate core / mythTV install, I guess a complete package would be better and easier to maintain.

First of all I wan't to start with one dedicated "storage" server that I put away in some closet somewhere where I have the majority of recorded dvd:s etc. This I should install a regular Ubuntu on I guess? or is it support already for use of another comps files in this Mythbuntu release? It's a P4 2.8 Ghz comp with 2 GB of ram, 2x120 GB disks 2x250 GB disks and what I really want in, a FireWire 800 card for external disks (I have PCI-IOFW82AA2 now but i'm not sure it has linux drivers). I'm guessing the specs is ok for that part. Is there drivers available for this card or do you have any other card that you recommend?

As for the HTPC requirements I wan't to playback 1080p, MKV files etc but I guess this is as in windows just different codecs. Anyway here is the specs of the HTPC and you can give feedback where I need to boost hardware a bit.

Does Linux make good use of the dual core in videoplayback? I know windows has some issues on this on some mediaplayers. And I can probably find a cheaper processor if it won't make use of both cores.

Is there support for the LCD-Display on the Antec chassi or is this a goner? Do I need a special connector on the motherboard or is it standard USB it uses?

I want to have an internal soundcard to this but I'm not sure I need it / can find any that takes one of the PCI-x slots. I have a surround system and I'm not gonna buy a soundcard if the output from the motherboard is enough input to the reciever.