Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    17

    Lightbulb wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    I'm getting this message
    wine: could not load L"I:\\virtual-drives\\setup.exe": Bad EXE format for
    when I'm trying to install the game.
    I have used wine setup.exe and ~\virtual-drives\\setup.exe both are not working.
    What's the problem?

    p.s.
    sorry for my english

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    4,508
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    Name of the game?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    17

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    The witcher, but I read on AppDB that instalation works

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    4,508
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    Virtual drives... are you using AcetoneISO to mount an image? If so, shouldn't there be folders labelled 1-9 inside the virtual-drivers folder?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    17

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    Yes, cd is mounted in "1"
    I had this error so i coppied "setup.exe" and changed premissions, i was thinking so that's because of premissions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    4,045
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    What does
    Code:
    file setup.exe
    say?

    I encountered a similar problem once. I don't remember if it was the same error message, but in my case it turned out to be a self-extracting zip-file, of which you can unzip like a regular zip-file.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    4,508
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    Yeah, I never got anything working because AcetoneISO messes file permissions up somehow and their ownership.

    So just burn the file on a CD, or aquire the original CD.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    17

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    $ file setup.exe
    setup.exe: data

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    167

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    AcetoneISO doesn't mess up anything.
    When you mount an image, it's using as backend fuseiso wich itself works on fuse library.
    Your problem depends on fuse. to be more clear, if you mount, the folder becomes of root user. this is normal and depends on fuse. it's of root user but is readable by any user if properly configured.
    it's not good to say bad about software without knowing how things work.

    @P4VV37

    why ~/virtual-drives//setup.exe?
    it should be mounted in ~/virtual-drives/1 .
    I think you didn't properly set fuseiso permissions as clearly stated on acetoneiso's source.

    open a terminal and as root user type:

    chmod 4755 /usr/bin/fusermount (may be /bin/fusermount depending on distro)
    chmod o+rw /dev/fuse
    addgroup <your-user> fuse (ex. addgroup johndoe fuse)

    now you can mount your image and correctly read files.
    also be sure you have latest AcetoneISO2 1.96 version.
    Last edited by bulletxt; November 12th, 2007 at 03:04 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    4,508
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: wine: could not load[...]: Bad EXE format for

    I did those chmod instructions when I was installing. And I did it now just to test, same result .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •