Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 72

Thread: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On a small blue planet.
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Smile Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    @dfreer
    Thank you, I made it rather quickly with GIMP. As for making time, save states might help

    @kevindubrow
    dfreer gave the command you need. build-dep does work though, I'm not using medi-buntu, but the command is exactly:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get build-dep zsnes
    No space between the hyphen. Try and see if that does the trick.
    Also,
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install autoconf
    that should take care of the autogen error

    @mister_k81
    Yes, there are a lot of great commands and tricks... You just kind of stumble upon them though... Unless you read a lot of manual pages.

    As for rom, and yes I know the forum rules, this is not a link to the rom itself, just a patch file:

    http://www.romhacking.net/hacks/197/

    It's fun and extensive zelda III hack (requires the original zelda III rom), much harder than the original... Although a few save states and cheat codes I made balance things out

    Anyway, zsnes supports soft patching.
    So just put the ips file with the same name as the rom, and you'll be good to go.

    P.S. Dfreer, hope you don't mind me copying your response style
    Pears for your heirs
    My GNU/Linux and Emulation blog.
    Resources for the nostalgic emulation enthusiast.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    385
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    I'm really sorry, these codes are still not working. I now have a lot of new errors. I have gotten the repo that dfreer made but I don't know how I use that to get ZSNES. I thought it would be in the package manager, but I do not see it.

    Oh and thanks for the info FranMichaels!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On a small blue planet.
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Wink Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    You are very welcome.
    Let's get this working.

    What do the errors look like.
    Did zsnes used to work before, maybe you should backup the config files stored in .zsnes
    Last edited by FranMichaels; October 21st, 2007 at 11:25 PM.
    Pears for your heirs
    My GNU/Linux and Emulation blog.
    Resources for the nostalgic emulation enthusiast.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    385
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    It was working in Feisty, but stopped when I upgraded. I'll just put the whole output...I don't care if you guys know my name!

    stephen@stephen-laptop:~$ cd ~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo apt-get build-dep zsnes

    [sudo] password for stephen:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    E: Could not open file /var/lib/apt/lists/medibuntu.sos-sts.com_repo_dists_feisty_free_source_Sources - open (2 No such file or directory)
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo apt-get install libao-dev
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    libao-dev is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
    libnl1-pre6 libnm-util0 dhcdbd
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo apt-get install autoconf
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    autoconf is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
    libnl1-pre6 libnm-util0 dhcdbd
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ ./autogen.sh
    Generating build information using aclocal and autoconf...
    ./autogen.sh: 6: aclocal: not found
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
    checking whether the C compiler works... yes
    checking whether we are cross compiling... no
    checking for suffix of executables...
    checking for suffix of object files... o
    checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
    checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
    checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
    checking for g++... g++
    checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
    checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
    checking for nasm... nasm
    ./configure: line 3437: syntax error near unexpected token `1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR'
    ./configure: line 3437: `AM_PATH_SDL(1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR(SDL >= 1.2.0 is required))'
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ ./configure --enable-libao --enable-release
    checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking for gcc... gcc
    checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
    checking whether the C compiler works... yes
    checking whether we are cross compiling... no
    checking for suffix of executables...
    checking for suffix of object files... o
    checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
    checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
    checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
    checking for g++... g++
    checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
    checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
    checking for nasm... nasm
    ./configure: line 3437: syntax error near unexpected token `1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR'
    ./configure: line 3437: `AM_PATH_SDL(1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR(SDL >= 1.2.0 is required))'
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ make
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo make install
    make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$

    Thank you very much for your help!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On a small blue planet.
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    Quote Originally Posted by kevindubrow View Post
    It was working in Feisty, but stopped when I upgraded. I'll just put the whole output...*snip*
    ./configure: line 3437: syntax error near unexpected token `1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR'
    ./configure: line 3437: `AM_PATH_SDL(1.2.0,,AC_MSG_ERROR(SDL >= 1.2.0 is required))'
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ make
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ sudo make install
    make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.
    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$

    Thank you very much for your help!
    Okay, well it might be the new zsnes doesn't like your old config.

    In nautilus, press ctrl + h (or view hidden files) go the .zsnes folder

    rename your zsnescfg (or some file like that) to zsnescfg.old or move it to the Trash can. Try launching zsnes, and see if it works

    Other options, you are close to compiling it, just missing libsdl-dev stuff according to the error.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libsdl1.2-dev
    Pears for your heirs
    My GNU/Linux and Emulation blog.
    Resources for the nostalgic emulation enthusiast.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    385
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    Ok, well I already had whatever your code was going to give me:
    libsdl1.2-dev is already the newest version.
    The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
    libnl1-pre6 libnm-util0 dhcdbd
    Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.


    I deleted the zsnesl.cfg file and when I opened zsnes, it rewrote the file in the .zsnes folder and I had the same issue occurred (zsnes opened with a black box and closed).

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    On a small blue planet.
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Unhappy Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    Quote Originally Posted by kevindubrow View Post
    *snip*
    I deleted the zsnesl.cfg file and when I opened zsnes, it rewrote the file in the .zsnes folder and I had the same issue occurred (zsnes opened with a black box and closed).
    Hmm it must be another libsdl dev dependency, I installed mine more than 1/2 a year ago, so I don't rememeber exactly what's missing. Installing dependencies normally a one time thing.

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libsdl-image1.2-dev libsdl-mixer1.2-dev libsdl-net1.2-dev libsdl-sound1.2-dev
    Darn.
    What happens when you type zsnes in terminal
    does it show an error message?

    EDIT: One other thought, did you change anything in your upgrade to Gutsy? Maybe enabling/disabling desktop effects will make a difference?
    Last edited by FranMichaels; October 21st, 2007 at 11:29 PM.
    Pears for your heirs
    My GNU/Linux and Emulation blog.
    Resources for the nostalgic emulation enthusiast.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canuck Land
    Beans
    114
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    stephen@stephen-laptop:~/Desktop/zsnes_1_51/src$ ./autogen.sh
    Generating build information using aclocal and autoconf...
    ./autogen.sh: 6: aclocal: not found
    I don't know if this helps, but you can get aclocal by typing: "sudo apt-get install automake".

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    385
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    Woh! The code mister_k81 gave me did the trick! I Ran the code, ran an uninstall on ZSNES, reinstalled it and all is well! Thanks so much for all of your help, all you guys are great! And thanks for all of your time, FranzMichaels!

    I don't understand this....it is doing the same thing again!

    Output:
    ZSNES v1.51, (c) 1997-2007, ZSNES Team
    Be sure to check http://www.zsnes.com/ for the latest version.

    ZSNES is written by the ZSNES Team (See AUTHORS.TXT)
    ZSNES comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software,
    and you are welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions;
    please read 'LICENSE.TXT' thoroughly before doing so.

    Use ZSNES -? for command line definitions.

    This is a work in progress build. It contains code which
    May or may not be complete

    If this is supposed to be an official release, you forgot to
    run configure with --enable-release, go rebuild.

    It runs fine in the terminal, it tells me that it can not find a mouse, but mine still works.
    Last edited by kevindubrow; October 21st, 2007 at 11:52 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    385
    Distro
    Ubuntu UNR

    Re: Anyone having trouble with Zsnes?

    It will run fine if I run it from the terminal, but if I open it in the menu it will crash. Any clue what that is about?

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •