Thread: System Font on LCD Screen

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Question System Font on LCD Screen

Quick Summary: How do I get the fonts to display in a legible manner, on a 42" LCD Screen with a Nvidia GeForce MX400 graphics card, using the VGA monitor port out(to a VGA port in on the tv)?

Long Story:
    My issue pertains to the system fonts, and their display on my 42" LCD TV. The are way to small, and I am unable to read them. I am new to Linux/Ubuntu/myth, so I am hoping there is a relatively easy solution for this issue.

When I first started the install process, I was unable to see the installation screens, so I figured it was my resolution(all the windows fit on the tv fine though), so I changed it to what I would guess was something around 800x600, just to see if I could see what the installation windows were saying. It changed the resolution, everything blew up huge on the screen, except for the fonts. They were still super small(like 2-3 pixels tall). I thought well maybe if I finish the installation, the nvidia drivers might fix this.(I have a nvidia GeForce MX 4000 which I'm using the vga port..to the vga in the back of my tv), so I took the pc into another room that has a standard crt monitor, plugged it in, and I could read everything. I finished the install, updated everything, etc.

Since I had all the updates and everything else I thought I would need, I took the pc back into the living room, plugged it in, and the mythtv screen preloaded the images...everything looked great! UNTIL i went to change a setting in myth, the drop down boxes, input boxes, text, everything is super small. I exit myth and ubunutu is the same way.

In short, how do I get the fonts to display in a legible manner, on a 42" LCD Screen with a Nvidia GeForce MX400 graphics card, using the VGA monitor port out(to a VGA port in on the tv)