Page 151 of 255 FirstFirst ... 51101141149150151152153161201251 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,510 of 2548

Thread: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

  1. #1501
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    76
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    My write up stinks compared to: http://gaming.gwos.org/doku.php/wine...advanced_stuff

    Best of Luck!
    Last edited by Resonance378; March 20th, 2008 at 04:06 PM. Reason: Duh on my part
    ]

  2. #1502
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Dallas Texas
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    Hello everyone I'm using the Intel i915 on bored chipset, can wow run with the graphics card?

    I have installed WOW but after the intro video the game shuts itself down. i have tried to edit the WTF file but it the folder is empty and it won't let me save any text that i put in there. i think i have to log in to the game to get that information.

    from reading the post i believe i need to open it up it with Opengl, how do i do that if i can't edit the WTF file?

    Anyone know what to do?
    Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 900

  3. #1503
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    76
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    Quote Originally Posted by TolTime View Post
    Hello everyone I'm using the Intel i915 on bored chipset, can wow run with the graphics card?

    I have installed WOW but after the intro video the game shuts itself down. i have tried to edit the WTF file but it the folder is empty and it won't let me save any text that i put in there. i think i have to log in to the game to get that information.

    from reading the post i believe i need to open it up it with Opengl, how do i do that if i can't edit the WTF file?

    Anyone know what to do?
    Run wow from the command line using: wine $path$/Wow.exe -opengl

    Where $path$ is the path to your Wow .exe file.

    Additionally if you look at the last few posts someone has recently gotten an X3100 running (i915 chipset i believe)

    Best of Luck.
    Last edited by Resonance378; March 20th, 2008 at 10:30 PM. Reason: Correct \ for /
    ]

  4. #1504
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    1

    no Bodies, Objects in WoW

    well... hi
    I'm not that experienced with Ubuntu or Unix at all. English isn't my native, too. So, please, forgive mistakes i make an obvious things to do i didn't.
    Well... about my problem:
    After i have really, really lots of things done to my Ubuntu, i'm at a loss now. I got it working, after my PC froze everytime I accepted all the terms and conditions and the Login was about to appear. Well, but as i said, i was able to cope.

    Now, i have the Problem that i can't see anythin when i'm Ingame. The Characterselection was OK, the LoadingSequence was OK and I would also be able to walk around the World. The thing is, neither I (my body in the Screenshot should be at the bottom of the ramp, my shadow, a darker spot, can be seen) nor any other NPC nor Player can be seen. There are also some Objects in the World that are invisible, such as the flasks in the shop on the Screen.

    The specifications of my PC are:
    AMD Athlon 64 on a Asus A8N-E Motherboard,
    Inside is a Radeon X1600. Well, i don't know what else could be necessary .
    If there's something, just tell, i'll tell

    Installed is Ubuntu 7.10 - gutsyGibbon
    fglrxinfo tells me:
    display: :0.0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: Radeon X1600 Series
    OpenGL version string: 2.1.7412 Release

    my config.wtf and the xorg.conf are attached.

    Thanks in adv
    d4foasta

    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/config.wtf
    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/Bildschirmfoto.png
    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/xorg.conf

  5. #1505
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    Im having a Problem eveyrtime i go to boot up WoW it starts to flicker and i have no idea what is making it flicker i thought it would be in my Compfiz but i disable my cube and that did not seem to help either is there anyone that could help me out here?

  6. #1506
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    Well, my wow was working ok on wine. But the performance is often hovering below 5 fps. I went to terminal while playing and typed "top"

    This was the result... so does if my cpu is running at 98% does that mean that RAM and setting tweaking are useless and my CPU is just too slow?

    6050 devon 25 0 2680m 237m 11m R 98.5 23.4 3:46.97 WoW.exe
    4679 root 15 0 73480 28m 8284 R 1.3 2.8 0:53.55 Xorg
    6140 devon 15 0 2316 1164 880 R 0.3 0.1 0:00.21 top
    1 root 16 0 2908 1848 524 S 0.0 0.2 0:01.26 init

  7. #1507
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    76
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: no Bodies, Objects in WoW

    Quote Originally Posted by d4foasta View Post
    well... hi
    I'm not that experienced with Ubuntu or Unix at all. English isn't my native, too. So, please, forgive mistakes i make an obvious things to do i didn't.
    Well... about my problem:
    After i have really, really lots of things done to my Ubuntu, i'm at a loss now. I got it working, after my PC froze everytime I accepted all the terms and conditions and the Login was about to appear. Well, but as i said, i was able to cope.

    Now, i have the Problem that i can't see anythin when i'm Ingame. The Characterselection was OK, the LoadingSequence was OK and I would also be able to walk around the World. The thing is, neither I (my body in the Screenshot should be at the bottom of the ramp, my shadow, a darker spot, can be seen) nor any other NPC nor Player can be seen. There are also some Objects in the World that are invisible, such as the flasks in the shop on the Screen.

    The specifications of my PC are:
    AMD Athlon 64 on a Asus A8N-E Motherboard,
    Inside is a Radeon X1600. Well, i don't know what else could be necessary .
    If there's something, just tell, i'll tell

    Installed is Ubuntu 7.10 - gutsyGibbon
    fglrxinfo tells me:
    display: :0.0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: Radeon X1600 Series
    OpenGL version string: 2.1.7412 Release

    my config.wtf and the xorg.conf are attached.

    Thanks in adv
    d4foasta

    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/config.wtf
    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/Bildschirmfoto.png
    http://d4foasta.lima-city.de/xorg.conf
    You will find the combination of ATI fixes found here very helpful.
    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine
    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine/Troubleshooting
    ]

  8. #1508
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    76
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    Quote Originally Posted by Annor View Post
    Im having a Problem eveyrtime i go to boot up WoW it starts to flicker and i have no idea what is making it flicker i thought it would be in my Compfiz but i disable my cube and that did not seem to help either is there anyone that could help me out here?
    See the same links posted above - even if you dont have ATI some of these fixes are worth trying on intel and nvidia.
    Last edited by Resonance378; March 27th, 2008 at 03:35 PM.
    ]

  9. #1509
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    I tried doing the fourth step but I'm getting this message.

    <name>@Upstairs-2:~/Desktop/WOW_Install$ wine Installer.exe
    wine: could not load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\Installer.exe": Module not found
    <name>@Upstairs-2:~/Desktop/WOW_Install$
    Last edited by Pt.Shannon; March 30th, 2008 at 11:09 PM.

  10. #1510
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    486

    Re: Howto: WOW with Wine (help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft)

    I am using the i810 Intel Graphics driver on my laptop and when I launch WoW, I can hear the music playing, but no video. I believe that this laptop will play it fine, but not sure how to make the video work.

Page 151 of 255 FirstFirst ... 51101141149150151152153161201251 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •