Page 42 of 99 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292 ... LastLast
Results 411 to 420 of 981

Thread: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

  1. #411
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Sure! here is iwlist scan:

    Code:
    iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wmaster0  Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:0D:88:2F:EB:F9
                        ESSID:"minha"
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:6
                        Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                        Quality=45/100  Signal level=-73 dBm  Noise level=-69 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s
                        Extra:tsf=00000049c8ef7b26
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:17:9A:62:BB:E7
                        ESSID:"teste"
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:8
                        Frequency:2.447 GHz (Channel 8)
                        Quality=65/100  Signal level=-57 dBm  Noise level=-69 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                                  9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Extra:tsf=0000000005f8863c
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    My ap is teste. minha maybe a neighbor.

    I don't know if I have a bridge as I didn't configure anything about that. I only installed the firmware as b43-legacy driver was showing on messages.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #412
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    I dont know what this means:
    No keys have been configured - skip key clearing

    Can you post your wpa_supplicant.conf file along with telling me about your router setup.

  3. #413
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Yeap.

    Here is my wpa_cupplicant.conf
    Code:
    ap_scan=1
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant 
    
    network={
            ssid="teste"
            scan_ssid=0
            proto=WPA
            key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
            psk=<removed>
            pairwise=TKIP
            group=TKIP
    }

    My ap is a dlink DI-524 wireless router with default configuration of wireless.

    I konw it is ok because as I said in past, this same router, with this same notebook worked perfectly some days ago, but after some ubuntu updates it doesn't work. Indeed when it worked, it was the first time ever I could get wpa to work on it under gnu/linux. I even removed the network cable just to be sure it wasn't a networkmanager icon problem

    I thought it could be a kernel update which made it work (2.6.24-14) we are now at -15. But when I booted back on -14, it also didn't work, so I think it may be some modification elsewhere. I saw in networkmanager changelog something about wpa which I thought could be the solution but it didn't work

    So, as wpa_supplicant is also looping to get a connection, I think it is the same cause for networkmanager. That's why I'm here.

    Maybe there is some configuration I can do. I also can try ndiswrapper but I'm not intended to because in past I had this same problem and it didn't fix by using ndiswrapper

    Thanks in advance for any help.

  4. #414
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,554
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Just to save some time and frustration -- can you connect to your router if there is no encryption -- turn of WPA -- just want to confirm its not a network drivers issue or any other thing that would prevent even a nonencrypted connection and session!

    What driver are you using?
    lshw -C network

  5. #415
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chula Vista, CA
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Wow this was so cool yet it did not work for me. the last response from the sudo dhclient wlan0 command resulted in NODHCPOFFER.

    I really believed it would work for me.

    UPDATE EDIT:
    My issue is resolved and was due to having an extra :s before my key in /etc/network/interfaces file.
    Last edited by bdstein; April 14th, 2008 at 06:14 PM.

  6. #416
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by kevdog View Post
    Just to save some time and frustration -- can you connect to your router if there is no encryption -- turn of WPA -- just want to confirm its not a network drivers issue or any other thing that would prevent even a nonencrypted connection and session!

    What driver are you using?
    lshw -C network

    Hi, Kevdog.

    Yes, it works without WPA.

    My driver is b43-legacy.

    Here is my lshw:

    Code:
    lshw -C network
      *-network:0             
           description: Network controller
           product: BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller
           vendor: Broadcom Corporation
           physical id: 3
           bus info: pci@0000:02:03.0
           version: 02
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
           configuration: driver=b43-pci-bridge latency=64 module=ssb
      *-network:1
           description: Ethernet interface
           product: 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller
           vendor: Intel Corporation
           physical id: 8
           bus info: pci@0000:02:08.0
           logical name: eth0
           version: 83
           serial: 00:e0:b8:67:5f:90
           size: 100MB/s
           capacity: 100MB/s
           width: 32 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
           configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e100 driverversion=3.5.23-k4-NAPI duplex=full firmware=N/A ip=192.168.0.156 latency=66 link=yes maxlatency=56 mingnt=8 module=e100 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100MB/s
      *-network
           description: Wireless interface
           physical id: 1
           logical name: wlan0
           serial: 00:90:4b:17:8a:a9
           capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
    Thanks in advance for any info.

    Also, I'd like to add that this same notebook worked with wpa some days ago. I don't know what happend it isn't working anymore

  7. #417
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    16

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Well, I think you won't believe me but after last updates I did yesterday night, my wpa connection is working again!!!

    But I couldn't track what package fixed it again. I know it wasn't networkmanager because the version installed is the same which worked before and later stopped work and now is working again.

    Hmmmm, I just remember the histoy synaptics record telling what packages were updated... I will check it to see if I can find what package made my wifi work again...

    I just hope it isn't any type of race condition between driver, hardware, OS or whatever which would make my wifi wpa works sometimes and others don't

    Note that I didn't change anything to make it work again. Just the updates... Even in previous kernel it is working ok.

    Anyway, thanks for your help. I will keep this thread updated if I find anything.

  8. #418
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    I had to post to thank you for this tutorial, I am new to Ubuntu and whenever I tried to set up the wireless connection with the GUI it would freeze up on me. I followed your steps for WEP and it works fine now.

    Next thing is to move on to WPA cause WEP can be cracked in 5 minutes.

    thanks again

  9. #419
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Hey there new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I'm trying to get my wireless set up. The network manager doesn't work for me at all. i've done

    Code:
    aptitude remove network-manager network-manger-gnome
    i'm able to connect no problem following this how-to and using the static ip part of the guide. my annoyance comes from having to type in the commands all the time i start the computer.

    i followed the script instructions with a few modifications and this is what i have:

    /etc/rc.local
    Code:
    #
    # rc.local
    #
    # This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
    # Make sure that the script will "exit 0" on success or any other
    # value on error.
    #
    # In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
    # bits.
    #
    # By default this script does nothing.
    
    ifconfig lo down
    ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.108 netmask 255.255.255.0
    iwconfig wlan0 essid "bahay"
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    route add default gw 192.168.1.1
    
    exit 0
    when i first turn on the computer there are the results i get from each command:

    sudo ifconfig
    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:B6:99:17:B9  
              inet addr:192.168.1.108  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:15 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:29 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:4305 (4.2 KB)  TX bytes:2396 (2.3 KB)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-16-B6-99-17-B9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    sudo iwconfig
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"bahay"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:14:BF:CD:D0:01   
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Link Signal level=-50 dBm  
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ping 192.168.1.1
    Code:
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    
    --- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
    5 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 3999ms
    sudo route
    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
    default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 wlan0
    there are my results after i manually enter each command and have a successful connection to both the router and world wide web:

    sudo ifconfig
    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:B6:99:17:B9  
              inet addr:192.168.1.108  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:47 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:54 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:13111 (12.8 KB)  TX bytes:4146 (4.0 KB)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-16-B6-99-17-B9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    sudo iwconfig
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"bahay"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:14:BF:CD:D0:01   
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Link Signal level=-51 dBm  
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ping 192.168.1.1
    Code:
    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=11.3 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=3.14 ms
    
    --- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
    2 packets transmitted, 2 received, 0% packet loss, time 999ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 3.147/7.230/11.313/4.083 ms
    sudo route
    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
    default         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 wlan0
    i'm not sure of what could be wrong because i'm fairly certain i have followed all the necessary directions up to this point. Thanks for the great how-to btw! just need to pass this last hurdle for wireless.

  10. #420
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Glens Falls, NY - USA
    Beans
    43
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    can't get static ip to stick

    sorry. deleted. (i was stupid)
    Last edited by Virtual_Ron; April 13th, 2008 at 08:22 PM.

Page 42 of 99 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •