Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North London; England
    Beans
    697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    im curious to see how versatile devilspie is. and i am looking for ideas for how it can be used, and it may help new users see some of the cool programs there are

    (if
    (matches (window_name) "DesktopConsole")
    (begin
    (set_workspace 4)
    (below)
    (undecorate)
    (skip_pager)
    (skip_tasklist)
    (wintype "utility")
    (geometry "+0+0")
    (geometry "1026x870")
    )
    )
    i have used mine to put a transparent terminal on the desktop for easy access

    i got this config file from http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...nal+on+desktop

    can anyone who uses devilspie post their config files. i will be extremely great full
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by markp1989; October 1st, 2007 at 02:29 AM.
    Desktop:i7 875k|4gb OCZ platinum ddr3 2000|Evga P55 LE mobo|OCZ RevoDrive 50gb|ATI 5850 Black Edition|Silverstone FT02|corsair tx650
    Portable: 13" Macbook Pro 2.8ghz i7 16gb RAM | Asus EEE TF101 | Samsung Galaxy S2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North London; England
    Beans
    697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    i really like devilspie, and im curious to see how people have put it to use
    Desktop:i7 875k|4gb OCZ platinum ddr3 2000|Evga P55 LE mobo|OCZ RevoDrive 50gb|ATI 5850 Black Edition|Silverstone FT02|corsair tx650
    Portable: 13" Macbook Pro 2.8ghz i7 16gb RAM | Asus EEE TF101 | Samsung Galaxy S2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North London; England
    Beans
    697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    bump
    Desktop:i7 875k|4gb OCZ platinum ddr3 2000|Evga P55 LE mobo|OCZ RevoDrive 50gb|ATI 5850 Black Edition|Silverstone FT02|corsair tx650
    Portable: 13" Macbook Pro 2.8ghz i7 16gb RAM | Asus EEE TF101 | Samsung Galaxy S2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    182
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    I second this request for cool stuff you can do with devilspie.

    It looks like it has potential - if only I was some kind of genius or had more knowledge or something....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North London; England
    Beans
    697
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    (if
    (matches (window_name) "Buddy Ticker")
    (begin
    (set_workspace 4)
    (below)
    (undecorate)
    (skip_pager)
    (skip_tasklist)
    (wintype "utility")
    (geometry "+0-25")
    (geometry "800x10")
    )
    )


    this displays the buddy ticker from pidgen just above my bottom panel, i cannot screen print this because it has my friends email addresses on it
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by markp1989; October 18th, 2007 at 09:33 PM.
    Desktop:i7 875k|4gb OCZ platinum ddr3 2000|Evga P55 LE mobo|OCZ RevoDrive 50gb|ATI 5850 Black Edition|Silverstone FT02|corsair tx650
    Portable: 13" Macbook Pro 2.8ghz i7 16gb RAM | Asus EEE TF101 | Samsung Galaxy S2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    far... very far.
    Beans
    148

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    hmmm... i'd post mine but im having issues getting it moved where i want it... (screenshot and config here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=654080 )
    ~0okami

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    15

    Re: post your devilspie config files with screenshot

    I know this thread is old, but here's mine.

    I'm using one which creates a background desktop on my second workspace ayt login, and one which makes a regular console a specific size to match the background picture I put into it.

    On my background console there's a miniscule little space between the left edge of the screen and the beginning of the console's left edge. I don't know how to fix this, i tried changing the lines (geometry +50+50) thinking maybe it would move the first pixel it draws on or something, but it didn't change anything.

    Here are the scripts.

    Background Console
    (if
    (matches (window_name) "DesktopConsole")
    (begin
    (set_workspace 2)
    (below)
    (undecorate)
    (skip_pager)
    (skip_tasklist)
    (wintype "utility")
    (geometry "+0+0")
    (geometry "1148x824")
    )
    )
    Regular Console
    (if
    (matches (window_name) "Future")
    (begin
    (below)
    (skip_pager)
    (skip_tasklist)
    (geometry "+50+100")
    (geometry "525x400")
    )
    )
    I don't really understand the (gemoetry "+X+X") part does. I'm working under the assumption that it controls where the window is placed when it's rendered, but when I was working with it I changed the numbers between +0 and +500 and it would always open in the same place.

    Anyway, to the screenshots.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •