Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello From Elkhart

Beans
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

Hello From Elkhart

Hello, I've been using Ubuntu since May 2005, Version 5.04. Didn't have a real good install until Breezy came out. (Resolution issues) It just keeps getting better every release. Already have Gutsy 64bit installed, so far so good I just signed up for the newsletter, and I was wondering if there is anybody else from Northern Indiana here.

As an Introduction; I am 55, a truck driver, Married, Father of Four, Daughter, 26, living in Raleigh NC, Three sons, 20, 17, and 11. My Wife and I homeschooled the three boys, so we have computers in every room. 4 PC's, One Imac, And a Dell Laptop should be joining the collection shortly. All have Ubuntu installed, 2 are dual booted with WinXP. (Teenagers and their games) and I have Vista dual booted in mine. (Confined to a 16GB Partition, so It can't contaminate the rest of my Computer ) They all spend the Majority of their time in Ubuntu.

I hope We can make this Chapter grow quickly.

Beans

Re: Hello From Elkhart

Hello! Welcome aboard!

I myself am from the Fort Wayne area, originally from the Bloomington area. My impression (though I haven't done any sort of real quantifiable analysis) is that we've got a pretty well dispersed population, with people from all over the state.

I myself am tolerant of a Windows XP partition solely for the gaming aspect of it, though today I'm going to be working on giving it a Human/Tango makeover. It's the least I can do to hide the shame

Gladly, I see more and more companies realizing that it's in their interest to design their games from the ground up to be easily portable (not relying on DirectX). Doom 3 and Neverwinter Nights (though not NWN 2) are two very popular mainstream games that run well on Linux. There's also a company, Introversion Games (Uplink, Darwinia, DEFCON), that's commited to porting every game it ever makes to Linux.