Thread: Nautilus sidebar and Debian

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Nautilus sidebar and Debian

I've been running Ubuntu (Feisty) and Debian (Lenny) now for a couple of years and I have a question that I'm hoping someone might be able to help me with. In Ubuntu I can mount any of my partitions by double-clicking the icon in the nautilus sidebar and entering my password. In Debian, however, the partitions are shown but if I try to mount one from the sidebar I just get an error message:

Error org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.PermissionDeniedByPolic y

I can mount any partition in the usual way, but I've found that if there's an fstab entry for it the partition shows up twice in the sidebar, and yet no fstab entries seem to be necessary in feisty.

Does anyone know how I can add the ability to mount partitions from the sidebar to debian?

Beans

Re: Nautilus sidebar and Debian

well from what i see in /etc/hal/fdi/policy/preferences.fdi ,it's not setup by default, everything is commented out. so i'm guessing you would have to set it up. try checking what fiesty has in there. sorry can't be of more help, i use debian+icewm+rox and ivman for mounting.

Beans
    Distro

Both xml files are identical to each other so I'm guessing it's not that?

Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> <!-- -*- SGML -*- -->

<!-- 
      Some examples how to use hal fdi files for system preferences 
      You can either uncomment the examples here or put them in a seperate .fdi
      file.
    -->
    <deviceinfo version="0.2">
    <!-- 
      The following shows how to hint gnome-volume-manager and other programs 
      that honor the storage.automount_enabled_hint to not mount non-removable
      media.
    -->
    <!--
      <device>
        <match key="storage.hotpluggable" bool="false">
          <match key="storage.removable" bool="false">
            <merge key="storage.automount_enabled_hint" type="bool">false</merge>
          </match>
        </match>