Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: [SOLVED] anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Beans
    520
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    [SOLVED] anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    recently I started receiving DCOP communication errors, whenever I try to launch a KDE program in GNOME. This error screenshot is for kalzium, but is not limited to it.

    I get the error, and the the program seems to run fine. It is rather annoying.

    here is the massage in text form:

    DCOP communications error (kalzium)

    could not read network connection list.
    /home/andrew/.DCOP_server_omni_0

    Please check that the "dcopserver" is running!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Keen101; August 2nd, 2007 at 07:27 PM. Reason: [SOLVED]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Beans
    17
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    just delete that file that it references

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    923
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    Quote Originally Posted by Keen101 View Post
    DCOP communications erro
    I've had that error before. To fix it you just need to delete the files DCOP files. In your home directory there will be files that start with ".DCOP" that you need to delete. There might also be ".ICE" files, too:
    Code:
    $ cd ~
    $ rm .DCOPserver*
    $ rm .ICEauthority*
    After deleting them, logout or reboot. It's safe to delete those files because KDE recreates them on login.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Beans
    520
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    unfortunately none of your suggestions help. I looked. there is no file named .DCOP or anything close to that name. (and, yes I did look at the hidden files)

    my .DCOPserver file is missing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Orlando
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    I'm also having the same error when i try to start up Amarok. Its looking for that DCOP server. I looked all over for the DCOP files but I also do not have them...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Orlando
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    I just figured it out for my machine. I hope it works for you. What i found happening was that it was trying to create files in my /home/user/.kde folder but since i was running it under a normal user it couldn't get permissions to create files in that directory. So what i did was just changed the owner to the normal user by using the "chown user:group /home/user/.kde" command and all the folders within it and now my Amarok works.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Beans
    520
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    DCOP communications error [SOLVED]

    huh. well, i guess zir0n was right.

    I tried what he said worked for him.

    for me it was "sudo chown andrew:andrew /home/andrew/.kde"

    Cool. it works fine now!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tree House
    Beans
    42
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

    Re: [SOLVED] anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    i have a similar problem

    what should i do?

    I attached a little picture of it
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intel Pentium4 CPU 2.80GHz / nVidia FX5600XT 128MB (with Restricted Drivers enabled) / 512MB RAM "I'm totally new to anything Linux and Ubuntu, please have patience with me" HALLOWEEN PARTY @ http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=569057

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Loveland, CO
    Beans
    520
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: [SOLVED] anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    umm... for me it was "sudo chown andrew:andrew /home/andrew/.kde"



    Your problem could be different, but maybe not.

    so, try opening a terminal... (>Applications >Accessories >Terminal)


    then write this out and press enter:

    sudo chown sabrina:sabria /home/sabrina/.kde

    (assuming your username and home directory are "sabrina")


    -Andrew
    -keen101

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: [SOLVED] anyone know how to fix a DCOP communications error?

    Neither of the above solutions work for me and I have the exact same error message. I removed the ICE file and that didn't work. I also used the chown command and that didn't work. Any other ideas?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •