Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Getting serious about programming: Recommendations?

Beans
    Hidden!

Question Getting serious about programming: Recommendations?

Hi all.

After having dabbled in programming/hacking for some time (most of the time I had was allocated to other needs), I now find myself able to afford the time to pursue one of my lifelong passions to the fullest.

So now I need some real advice. Where should I start? (my current status: I have some minor experience with Python, C/C++, XML, HTML) What IDE's do you recommend (must be easy on the eyes, as I plan to spend long hours at the keyboard)? Libraries, etc?

My interest is primarily directed towards development/streamlining/modularization of applications/libraries for GNOME and GNU/Linux in general, with the hope of eventually being able to give back to the community.

Any recommendations for serious study would be most appreciated.

-- UDSF | Tango Desktop Project --

-- openSUSE 11.3 / Ubuntu 10.04 --

Beans
    Distro
    The Feisty Fawn Testing

Re: Getting serious about programming: Recommendations?

Quote Originally Posted by darkmatter
    So now I need some real advice. Where should I start? (my current status: I have some minor experience with Python, C/C++, XML, HTML) What IDE's do you recommend (must be easy on the eyes, as I plan to spend long hours at the keyboard)? Libraries, etc?
    The best place to start depends on what you want to do - try to think of something that will interest you, and go from there.