Thread: Hi i am a beginner to ubuntu .... and would want to install prince of persia warrior

Beans

Hi i am a beginner to ubuntu .... and would want to install prince of persia warrior

hi guys need help in installing prince of persia warrior within ....what should i do i have discs which work in windows if aany one could help me with detailed steps would be of great help

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Re: Hi i am a beginner to ubuntu .... and would want to install prince of persia warr

You could try to run it in wine, which is a compatibilty layer for Windows programs, but it doesn't seem to work for this game according to: http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?...TestingId=9830 . To get wine you'll need to add the multiverse and universe repositories to your sources, if you haven't already done so and then search for 'wine' in synaptic.
    Another, more realistic option, would be to run Windows in a virtual machine. You can do this with VMware Server or Virtual Box. Both of those programs are free, but only virtual box is open source. Virtual Box also provides easy-to-install .deb packages.

Beans

Re: Hi i am a beginner to ubuntu .... and would want to install prince of persia warr

Hmm ... okie where can i get the complete list of hugh end games that can work on ubuntu 7.04.....

Beans

Ok. Do people know something I don't know here?

This is the second thread I've seen today that suggests using virtual machines to run games that require high levels of 3D acceleration. Virtual machines only provide 2D acceleration at present, so the games will install, maybe even run but won't be playable.

This is just bad advice, which is worse than no advice at all IMO. People will read this thread, try it and have wasted their time on a suggestion that we already know will go nowhere.

@12hello: I'm afraid to say you are out of luck with Prince of Persia. That game still needs windows - at the moment.

Beans