Thread: What are the disadvantages of Wubi?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

What are the disadvantages of Wubi?

I'm basically a Linux newbie, although I've played with baby distros like PuppyLinux, used a few live cds (including Ubuntu), and regularly use a FreeBSD-based flavor of UNIX at work. I think I'm finally ready to install Ubuntu on my Windows laptop at home, and I have a few questions.

I understand (in very basic terms) how Wubi works, and it sounds almost too good to be true. A full installation of Ubuntu without all of that tricky (for beginners!) partitioning stuff? Amazing. So -- I want to know -- what is the catch? For people wanting to do a dual boot, what are the disadvantages of Wubi? If Wubi's so much easier, why wouldn't everyone setting up a dual boot with Windows use it? Is it much slower? Is it harder for Ubuntu to detect external hardware, internet, etc if it's installed using Wubi rather than with a standard partitioned setup? Is Wubi really intended for people who are just trying Ubuntu, not for those who plan to use it on a daily basis?

I know there's some discussion here about the good and the bad of Wubi, but I didn't see somewhere where this question was specifically addressed.

Help and feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Beans

Re: What are the disadvantages of Wubi?

Good question, at the moment:

1. Disk performance is slightly slower. You should not be able to notice any difference under normal circumstances. The problem becomes more evident if you have little memory and use swap a lot or if your windows partition is very fragmented. It should be still far faster than under a typical VM or LiveCD.