Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Electrical Engineering vs Computer Engineering

Beans

Electrical Engineering vs Computer Engineering

Hi everybody,
    since September I'll be attending university and now I have to choose the degree course I want to attend.
    I'm a bit undecided between computer engineering and electrical engineering (which actually is electronics engineering for those living in Europe).
    I kind of think that computer science (at least the most common and requested skills and knowledge) can be studied as self-taught (especially if you really like it and are inclined to it), while it would be surely harder to learn subjects such as physics or other electronics-related ones.
    So an electrical engineering degree might be a bit more qualifier, mightn't it?
    Moreover, you can see an electrical engineer working with computer languages and algorithms or doing a computer engineering job, while the contrary is quite uncommon, isn't it?
    So an electrical engineer should have a broader perspective.

So, what do you suggest?

Thanks in advance.

P.S.: I'd just like to underline that I do not want to start any flames, just a constructive discussion.
    Last edited by luca_linux; June 9th, 2007 at 09:50 PM.

Beans

Re: Electrical Engineering vs Computer Engineering

Why not get a double degree, and learn both?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I have had friends with various engineering degrees end up doing computer engineering and/or programming. With a good knowledge set it is easier to learn computer science by yourself than other fields, just as you suspect.

If you are enjoying both, then I suggest either electrical engineering, or do a double major with both. You already have a good start on the computer engineering side (I remember your ipw2200+wpa thread from 2005/6).
    what's a troll? | my blog | my writing | Ubuntu Unleashed

Don't ask support questions in PMs--post a thread so everyone can benefit!

Beans