Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 55

Thread: Using Stata on Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Beans
    6
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Using Stata on Ubuntu

    I haven't found xStata therefore I am using Stata with Wine on Ubuntu. It seems to work fine. But I was wondering whether there could be any potential problems or found problems. I am working on a project and don't want to jeopardize my work.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    What do you mean by "I haven't found xStata therefore I am using Stata with Wine on Ubuntu"? Stata has the linux version for the same price.

    Running software on wine always have some issues. It is slower especially in graphics related work. And the next version might not work, or wine update may cause problem.

    If you are using Stata for serious research, then running it on wine is a bad idea.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Install virtualbox or vmware and run a virtual machine with some of the windozes around. That will be trouble-free. I am trying to replace sigmaplot and sigmastat, but it is not easy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Stata rocks, but if you have already purchased it for windoze, try using R. R is well-documented, and I cannot think of anything it cannot do. OK, the graphics aren't that great, but neither are the graphics in stata. There's my $0.02.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Beans
    139
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Has anyone installed Stata 10 on Ubuntu 8.04 and had xstata run smoothly?

    The dynamically linked version did not work due to a libtiff missing package, but the statically linked one launches alright.

    But the fonts are just awful. The GUI results display is impossibly slow and the fonts do not line up (are mistakenly proportional?) and text is overwritten on other text in the help window.

    Stata claims this is not common. Really??

    Have you had this problem? I think I've a pretty plain installation of Ubuntu 8.04 on an intel laptop, except that it's 64bit.
    latest release of Ubuntu on Lenovo X230T, Lenovo T410s, HP Mini, and Zareason Lightlap in Montréal, Canada

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Beans
    139
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Solutions to these various problems turned out to be:
    change font preferences to Courier 10pitch at 10pt. Then the xstata is fast and readable.

    Make sure ~/.stata10 is not owned by root (mistake from installation process? Come on, Stata! You can do better), since having it so makes remembering preferences impossible.
    latest release of Ubuntu on Lenovo X230T, Lenovo T410s, HP Mini, and Zareason Lightlap in Montréal, Canada

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Okay. I just looked at the Stata site and it didn't list Ubuntu as an OS that can run Stata. So, does this mean that if I buy the linux version of Stata I will have problems?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    763

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    stanton, I think that means that you might have to tweak a few things as mentioned in this thread. But my guess is that once you make those small tweaks, you will not have any problems. I am just going to wait for the next version of Stata to come out and then will definitely buy it for Linux. I would be so excited to have Stata for ubuntu!! can't wait..

    Would anyone be down to coordinate an emailing of ubuntu users asking for them to start ubuntu? let me know..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    64
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    dynamically linked works fine. It looks for libtiff.so.3, but if you make a symbolic link the program works great. Here are the instructions for a ubuntu install. I first did this with hardy, but it works fine with intrepid

    I have stata 10 installed on ubuntu and it works perfectly. Here is how I got it to run:

    mkdir /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/
    chmod a+rx /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/stata10
    mkdir /tmp/statainstall
    cp -r /media/cdrom0 /tmp/statainstall
    /tmp/statainstall/cdrom0/install

    follow prompts

    now xstata-se doesn't run because it is looking for libtiff.so.3

    This is old so make a symbolic link to your current version

    ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.4 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3

    now stata should run fine.


    Quote Originally Posted by cpbl View Post
    Has anyone installed Stata 10 on Ubuntu 8.04 and had xstata run smoothly?

    The dynamically linked version did not work due to a libtiff missing package, but the statically linked one launches alright.

    But the fonts are just awful. The GUI results display is impossibly slow and the fonts do not line up (are mistakenly proportional?) and text is overwritten on other text in the help window.

    Stata claims this is not common. Really??

    Have you had this problem? I think I've a pretty plain installation of Ubuntu 8.04 on an intel laptop, except that it's 64bit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    179
    Distro
    Kubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    I can confirm that Stata10 for Unix works fine in Linux Mint Felicia (which is derived from Ubuntu Intrepid).

    Okay. I just looked at the Stata site and it didn't list Ubuntu as an OS that can run Stata. So, does this mean that if I buy the linux version of Stata I will have problems?
    I had a quick look at the Stata website too, and I think this page (http://www.stata.com/products/opsys.html#unix) is the one you saw. It says that Stata for Unix will run on:

    Any 32-bit (x86 or compatible), or 64-bit (Intel Itanium, x86-64 or compatible) running Linux
    (emphasis mine)

    So it runs on any Linux-based system, of which Ubuntu is just one. It doesn't list Ubuntu specifically, because there are so many. For the record, I've seen it working in Ubuntu, Fedora and Mint. For Ubuntu and Mint I encountered the libtiff.3.so problem but the fix that chrisby suggested worked perfectly. No other issues.

    Of course, your mileage may vary.

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •