Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55

Thread: Using Stata on Ubuntu

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Beans
    97
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Confirm.
    xstata 10 works fine in Ubuntu.
    But i am making my jump to R - moving from stata to R isn't to difficult.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    64
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    @eumetaxas

    How is R now (genuine question, I am not trolling)? I played with it a little bit when I started graduate school, but felt like I was reinventing the wheel coding things built into stata.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    These directions were fantastic! Thank you. A couple of comments.

    First, I think it's worth point out that we have to be logged on as root to do this.

    Second, there is a typo in the install line. cdrom0 shouldn't be there:
    /tmp/statainstall/install

    Question - the last time I installed Stata for Linux I think I was able to update Stata (e.g., update all) without starting Stata as root. I don't remember how I got this to work. Does anybody know how to do this?

    Thanks again - these instructions really should be available on the Stata website.


    Quote Originally Posted by chrisby View Post
    dynamically linked works fine. It looks for libtiff.so.3, but if you make a symbolic link the program works great. Here are the instructions for a ubuntu install. I first did this with hardy, but it works fine with intrepid

    I have stata 10 installed on ubuntu and it works perfectly. Here is how I got it to run:

    mkdir /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/
    chmod a+rx /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/stata10
    mkdir /tmp/statainstall
    cp -r /media/cdrom0 /tmp/statainstall
    /tmp/statainstall/cdrom0/install

    follow prompts

    now xstata-se doesn't run because it is looking for libtiff.so.3

    This is old so make a symbolic link to your current version

    ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.4 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3

    now stata should run fine.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    31

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Also after doing all these, you may have to run this one as well:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libgtksourceview-2.0.so.0 /usr/lib/libgtksourceview-1.0.so.0

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    31

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Also, after running all these:

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisby View Post
    dynamically linked works fine. It looks for libtiff.so.3, but if you make a symbolic link the program works great. Here are the instructions for a ubuntu install. I first did this with hardy, but it works fine with intrepid

    I have stata 10 installed on ubuntu and it works perfectly. Here is how I got it to run:

    mkdir /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/
    chmod a+rx /usr/local/stata10
    cd /usr/local/stata10
    mkdir /tmp/statainstall
    cp -r /media/cdrom0 /tmp/statainstall
    /tmp/statainstall/cdrom0/install

    follow prompts

    now xstata-se doesn't run because it is looking for libtiff.so.3

    This is old so make a symbolic link to your current version

    ln -s /usr/lib/libtiff.so.4 /usr/lib/libtiff.so.3

    now stata should run fine.
    you may have to run this last piece of command as well, then you'll be fine:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libgtksourceview-2.0.so.0 /usr/lib/libgtksourceview-1.0.so.0

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    5

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Thank you so much! Helped a lot!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rimouski, Québec
    Beans
    125
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Did you guys manage to install Stata in 10.04? I've recently done a clean install of Lucid, but I just can't install Stata. Whenever I come to the last command, the install command, I get "command not found", with or without ./

    I just don't get it, do I miss a prerequisite?

  8. #18
    beew is offline Iced Blended Vanilla Crème Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    2,785

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Hi,

    Just found this thread when searching. I have just installed STATA 10 on my Ubuntu 10.04 laptop. It is working fine, except when I try to update. I got the error message the "servers refused to send files". I looked up the stata site and apparently it has something to do with proxy settings, but I have not set any proxy as far as I know and the trouble shooting tips at STATA's site makes sense only for Windows (click menu bar and choose preference... there is no bloody menu bar in the Linux version!)

    I wonder if anyone knows what the problem is and how to work around it. Thanks.

  9. #19
    beew is offline Iced Blended Vanilla Crème Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    2,785

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Oh, nevermind. It turns out to be just bad connection. It has updated successfully.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    311
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Using Stata on Ubuntu

    Speaking of updating: There is a really bad bug in Stata 11 when running under Ubuntu 10.04. It can seriously compromise the accuracy of your calculations (e.g. it changed the values of a variable when I renamed it)
    There is an update that fixes the bug, so I would urgently recommend to run
    Code:
    update all
    in Stata.
    It's probably also a good idea to re-run your calculations from the last couple of months, especially if some results didn't seem to make sense...
    "Bergeron fans on a pass, Stefan steals and he'll ice it. Oh - at least I thought he was gonna until he blew it. That's unbelievable! Here come the Oilers the other way and Hemsky's loose... Hemsky, HE SCORES!!! CAN YOU..BELIEVE..WHAT WE..JUST SAW??"

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •