Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    My friends ripped a whole bunch of their original cds to their pc. Not being very pc literate they ripped them to WMA which windows gladly encoded with DRM.

    Their PC died requiring a OS reinstall (which I did) only later to realise they can no longer play their music. They live quite far away so they put the WMA files on a few DVD's and posted them to me.

    How can I remover the DRM crap from these files for them ?
    (They are not in the mood to re-rip the cds & some of the cds have also been damaged making them unreadable.)

  2. #2

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    i dont think you can, rip cd's into a format without drm! wma is rubbish!
    im dyslexic, please don't comment on my spelling
    blender 3d artist, visit my portfolio
    Quad-Ren, Open source, resolution independent 2D graphics engine
    Screen space is a precious resource, don't waste it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Kubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    torrents.....

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=108497

    and you can try that site, they have some program (runs on windows )

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrewie View Post
    torrents.....

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=108497

    and you can try that site, they have some program (runs on windows )
    Thanks, I will have a look.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrewie View Post
    torrents.....

    http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=108497

    and you can try that site, they have some program (runs on windows )
    Yay for torrents, but that site is only a program that plays it and records it - which is like transcoding, and won't be very good quality (especially since WMA is optimized for low bitrates only).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by juxtaposed View Post
    Yay for torrents, but that site is only a program that plays it and records it - which is like transcoding, and won't be very good quality (especially since WMA is optimized for low bitrates only).
    Well it says tunebites can import drm protected wma files and save them as unprotected mp3s etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by mips View Post
    Well it says tunebites can import drm protected wma files and save them as unprotected mp3s etc.
    Converting from one lossy format to another will decrease the quality even more.

    FLAC - MP3 > FLAC - WMA - MP3

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    6,027

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by juxtaposed View Post
    Converting from one lossy format to another will decrease the quality even more.

    FLAC - MP3 > FLAC - WMA - MP3
    I'm aware of that but they will be more than happy as I've heard some of the stuff on their pc. If it was for myself I would have an issue with it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    Quote Originally Posted by mips View Post
    I'm aware of that but they will be more than happy as I've heard some of the stuff on their pc. If it was for myself I would have an issue with it.
    Oh, ok, I guess that program would be fine for them then.

    Just make sure they don't transcode it any more then that - past that, even if you don't know about transcoding and bad quality, they'll probably notice it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Remove DRM from .WMA ?

    or if you want no quality loss at all, the best way is to burn it as an audio cd (not data or mp3!) and then re-rip it using FLAC "best", that way you get exactly what the file was when you ripped it to the cd, but its considerably bigger then a mp3 however.
    Jabber: markgrandi[at]gmail.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •