Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Illinois & Chicago Shoutouts

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Illinois & Chicago Shoutouts

Hey there everyone, this will be our shoutout area, so please introduce yourself, let us know a little about you, and how we might be able to put you to work

OK, my name is Rich Johnson, I live out in Bloomingdale, DuPage county, small town just outside of Chicago (30 minutes). I have been using Linux since about 1994 while I was in the Navy. Hey, they had super fast internet, and I bought hundreds of blank floppies In 1996 I switched to the Kool Desktop Environment, which everyone knows as KDE. I have been using it ever since. I don't use Windows for anything, I don't depend on it, and I do not support it. If it isn't free (Linux, BSD, GNU), I don't mess with it.

I have been with the Ubuntu community for almost 2 years now. I work with the Kubuntu development team doing everything from packaging, development, to testing. I am also the maintainer of the Kubuntu system documentation (KMenu -> Help -> Kubuntu System Documentation). I am currently working with KDE developers for KDE 4 and also helping out with KDE documentation. I have quite a few handbooks you may have read in KHelpCenter for KDE. I maintain the KDE documentation for projects such as Katapult, Mailody, and many others. I will be working on the new KOffice 2 docs just as soon as we have a stable build ready for KDE 4 (next month baby!!!). As you can see I do a lot of documentation work. The reason being that I love to write. If you don't believe me, check out http://fridge.ubuntu.com, yes I am a Fridge developer. To see what else I dabble in check out my Launchpad Page and my Blog.

If you ever need anything, please do not hesitate to contact me for help or whatever. If I have it, and I can help, I will be there for you! My email and other info of course is in my signature below. Welcome everyone and thanks for stopping by!
    Richard Johnson (nixternal)