Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 176

Thread: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

  1. #151
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    hey i was wondering if anyone could help me with my D2 problem.
    im using ubuntu 9.04 jaunty
    wine 1.1.13
    i have D2 installed (not LoD) and the latest patch
    it will play the first two videos and then it will go black and i can only hear the music but see nothing. the only thing i can do is press escape to close the window.
    if someone could please help me that would be great
    thnks
    *edit* i was using opengl and i found that it doesnt let diablo2 work. so i opened it with the cd adn now i dont see any video and still hear the sounds.
    also theres a block in the top left corner that characters flash by
    Last edited by fou-lu; October 21st, 2009 at 01:42 AM.

  2. #152
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    58

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by fou-lu View Post
    hey i was wondering if anyone could help me with my D2 problem.
    im using ubuntu 9.04 jaunty
    wine 1.1.13
    There's yer problem...Update wine...

    The only thing not working is the No-CD patch, which I can't figure out the argument for.

  3. #153
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alsip, IL
    Beans
    2,027
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by shnurui View Post
    The only thing not working is the No-CD patch, which I can't figure out the argument for.
    Its kinda hit or miss. I have friends on Windows that still need to use a CD to load the game even with the 1.12 patch.

    ~Jeff

  4. #154
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Tuscaloosa, AL
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Hey I need help installing D2 and LOD i have the installer.exe set to open with wine but when i click it it doesn't start anything. Furthermore, when I type wine /media/cdrom0/installer.exe into the terminal I get this message

    wine: could not load L"D:\\installer.exe": Module not found
    raymond@Optimus-Prime:~$ err:menubuilder:WinMain unknown option -a
    err:menubuilder:WinMain unknown option -r

    any help would be amazing thanks all

  5. #155
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by shnurui View Post
    There's yer problem...Update wine...

    The only thing not working is the No-CD patch, which I can't figure out the argument for.
    Quote Originally Posted by beastrace91 View Post
    Its kinda hit or miss. I have friends on Windows that still need to use a CD to load the game even with the 1.12 patch.

    ~Jeff
    I've got the no CD thing working . . . I came across some instructions on the Blizzard website saying that you have to copy all of the .MPQ files to your Diablo directory from the Diablo II Play CD and LoD CD.

    If all required Diablo 2 '.MPQ' files are installed on the
    hard drive, the game will no longer require the CD to play.

    For users that originally performed a 'Full Installation'
    and wish to run without the CD, all '.MPQ' files should
    be copied from the Diablo 2 CDs to the Diablo 2 directory.
    Most users will only need to copy D2Music.mpq from the
    Diablo 2 Play CD and/or D2xMusic.mpq from the Lord of
    Destruction CD. Mac users will need to copy these music
    files and rename them to 'Diablo II Music' and
    'Diablo II Expansion Music' respectively.

    Anyone who did not perform a 'Full Installation' will need
    to re-install from CD again to ultimately play without the CD.
    In this case, a 'Full Installation' is required, followed by file
    copy step noted above.

  6. #156
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Londinium
    Beans
    592

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    I discovered how can you play Diablo 2 in a window of resolution higher than 800x600. You will need Sven glide wrapper for Diablo 2.

    1. Configure wine desktop to given resolution, let us say 1030x795.
    2. Configure diablo to run in Glide mode.
    3. Then, in the advanced options of the Glide wrapper, set windowed mode, force resolution to, say, 1024x768 and voila!

    ThinkPad R61: C2D 2,1GHz, 4GB ram, NV Quadro, (modded Bios)
    XP 64bit guest, 7 64bit backup OS.

  7. #157
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Quote Originally Posted by Lockheed View Post
    I discovered how can you play Diablo 2 in a window of resolution higher than 800x600. You will need Sven glide wrapper for Diablo 2.

    1. Configure wine desktop to given resolution, let us say 1030x795.
    2. Configure diablo to run in Glide mode.
    3. Then, in the advanced options of the Glide wrapper, set windowed mode, force resolution to, say, 1024x768 and voila!


    I would advice against using that for Battle.net games...
    I read on a forum that Blizzard considers that as a third-party program (which it is ) and bans accounts that use it =/

  8. #158
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Londinium
    Beans
    592

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    I highly doubt it is detectable in any way, as all it does is acting as a glide interpreter and hence is fully transparent.
    It has nothing to do with methods applied by hacks, as maphack.
    ThinkPad R61: C2D 2,1GHz, 4GB ram, NV Quadro, (modded Bios)
    XP 64bit guest, 7 64bit backup OS.

  9. #159
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    tuesday
    Beans
    6,502
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    Yep the glide wrapper is safe. Don't be a FUD spreader.

  10. #160
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    ニッポ&
    Beans
    719
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Diablo 2 + LoD Tutorial

    I was actually thinking about trying that Glide mode thing out. I wonder if it supports stretching for my wide monitor. XD I got use and prefer everyone being horizontally long-aged.

    Sugi
    WINE: Super Meat Boy // Far Cry 2 // Lineage 2
    VirtualBox: Snapshots // OSE Issues
    アンディモリを聞いてください。

Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •