Thread: Upgrading?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Upgrading?

I am a new user to Ubuntu 6.10 (edgy), and linux in general, and I just now found out about the Ubuntu CE, and was wondering if I were to update to the CE, how much of my current set up would be changed, as it was a bit of a pain getting Edgy to recognize my wireless NIC, and my screen resolution.

my thanks, and God bless

Beans

Re: Upgrading?

I had never heard of it. I looked at the Ubuntu CE page and it appears that it's just Ubuntu with some additional software. I'd say you would be pretty safe with this upgrade, but I'm no expert, that's for sure.
    F_M
    Sony VAIO VGN-FS742/W
    Running Dapper Drake
    Registered Linux user: # 391300

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Thank you for your input, I think I'll hold out and wait for a professional's advice though... I can't afford to lose my laptop to unusability again.

God Bless

Beans
    Hidden!

Quote Originally Posted by tnthomas17 View Post
    I am a new user to Ubuntu 6.10 (edgy), and linux in general, and I just now found out about the Ubuntu CE, and was wondering if I were to update to the CE, how much of my current set up would be changed, as it was a bit of a pain getting Edgy to recognize my wireless NIC, and my screen resolution.

my thanks, and God bless
    If you plan to use the convert_me script to install Ubuntu CE to your current Ubuntu installation then you should have no problems with the items that you mentioned.

Now let me caution you that you should read all of the instructions and warnings before using the script.

You will be installing parental filtering which may require some post installation tweaking for sites that you frequent that may be blocked. The filtering is quite effective and can be easily configured with the provided GUI.

The rest of the changes are mostly the installation of packages from the repos and some cosmetic changes.