Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Beans
    213

    Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    This post is also available from:
    http://darrenalbers.com/gprsec/aircard.html


    Here are some quick and dirty install instructions for an Aircard 860 on Ubuntu.

    * Download the firmware from:
    http://www.sierrawireless.com/resour...card_Linux.tar
    http://www.sierrawireless.com/faq/ShowFAQ.aspx?ID=118

    * Extract SW_8xx_SER.dat and rename it to SW_7xx_SER.cis (This tip found at: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=154092)
    * Copy the SW_7xx_SER.cis to /lib/firmware
    * Insert your card
    * use dmesg to determine what serial port the device is on. For example:

    [17609860.104000] pccard: PCMCIA card inserted into slot 0
    [17609860.104000] pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0
    [17609860.148000] 0.0: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A

    * Install GPRSEC from http://darrenalbers.com/gprsec/
    * Run gprsec, select preferences and select the serial port you determined from dmesg.
    * Save the settings and click connect
    Last edited by Darrena; August 7th, 2008 at 11:27 PM. Reason: Update URL

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    345

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    Hi

    Thanks for the info. I am trying to get a AC850 card to work in 6.06.1, i have gathered all the info I could here:
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/AirCard8X0

    I invite you to proofread/add anything you may find useful.
    Fabián Rodríguez
    Ubuntu Quebec LoCo Team contact, UCP, UCI

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    2

    Talking Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    Thanks You are the greatest. I can now finally get rid of windblows forever.

    I've looked and looked and tried many things but this is the first thing that ever worked. When , I first ran gprsec i had to remove the card and reinsert it, Then rerun gprsec to get connected. Thanks again you've made my day. I Just installed Unbuntu fiesty yesterday.
    ,
    I'll be here for a long time now Thanks again. !!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    I have an 860 card with the latest firmware. Ubuntu 7.04 and gprsec 3.0. I have gotten my card to be recognized on Linux on ttys0 and gprsec recognizes that its there, but when i try to connect, it says "Interrupted by User" and "Flat Battery". Does anyone know what this means? Or how to fix it?

    Thanks much in advance.
    Last edited by sheaton319; May 7th, 2007 at 06:04 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    4

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    Try configuring it using the LiveCD to make sure it works...

    I'm going through something right now where my card ONLY works on the LIVE CD...
    I get a connection time out when trying with my installed OS

    *shrug*

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    115

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    Similar problems here. I'm trying to connect with my gprs phone, using gprsec. I get the "flat battery"- error also. Feisty & gprsec & Samsung sgh-z540. The connection is ok with kmobiletools....go figure...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    2

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    I did as you, but the dmesg just output the following:

    [17180499.452000] pcmcia: registering new device pcmcia0.0

    There was no the last string,

    Can you tell me why?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Provo, UT
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    =D>

    THANK YOU for the file renaming tip. Works great! (Using Kubuntu Gutsy)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Provo, UT
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    Here is some of the info I needed to connect to Cingular (pasted from this site):

    Server Address - http://mmsc.cingular.com/

    Network Connection: Modem:Sierra Wireless Aicard 3G Modem.
    WAP Gateway IP Address - 66.209.11.61

    GPRS APN - wap.cingular
    Login Name - WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    Password - CINGULAR1
    Modem Used - Sierra Wireless Aircard 3G Modem

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Beans
    176

    Re: Setup Aircard 860 and connect via gprsec

    I have been a Sierra AirCard 860 and followed the howto.
    I get this:

    Code:
    horndog@horndog-laptop:~$ pon ac850
    /etc/chatscripts/ac850chat: 1: : Permission denied
    /etc/chatscripts/ac850chat: 3: TIMEOUT: not found
    /etc/chatscripts/ac850chat: 5: OK: not found
    /etc/chatscripts/ac850chat: 7: CONNECT: not found
    Connect script failed
    Any suggestions?
    BTW I don't have any internet without this connection.

    Thanks

    EDIT for more info

    Code:
    May  8 02:52:59 horndog-laptop dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 10
    May  8 02:53:01 horndog-laptop dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
    May  8 02:53:09 horndog-laptop dhclient: No DHCPOFFERS received.
    May  8 02:53:09 horndog-laptop dhclient: No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    May  8 02:53:09 horndog-laptop dhclient: No DHCPOFFERS received.
    May  8 02:53:09 horndog-laptop dhclient: No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    May  8 02:55:52 horndog-laptop pppd[7635]: pppd 2.4.4 started by horndog, uid 1000
    May  8 02:55:53 horndog-laptop pppd[7635]: Connect script failed
    May  8 02:55:54 horndog-laptop pppd[7635]: Exit.
    May  8 02:57:47 horndog-laptop dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on ath0 to 255.255.255.255
    Code:
    horndog@horndog-laptop:~$ ls /dev/um*
    /dev/umts
    Code:
    horndog@horndog-laptop:~$ pccardctl ident
    Socket 0:
      product info: "Sierra Wireless", "AC850", "3G Network Adapter", "R1"
      manfid: 0x0192, 0x0710
      function: 2 (serial)
    Socket 1:
      no product info available
    Last edited by Horndog; May 8th, 2008 at 09:28 AM. Reason: Just to say Thanks ;) and more info

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •