Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Ubuntu is here for

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Post What Ubuntu is here for

I chose to post this thread in the "Absolute Beginner Talk" portion because this is what everyone should know. Before one does something, he or she must know its cause. Before you Ubuntu, you must know what Ubuntu is here for.

For those who do not know what "Launchpad" is, it is a collection of services for products in the open source universe. Also, it is where users report Ubuntu bugs (or bugs from other distros). Now, there is these bug that is really bugging me big time. Not just me; it also bugs Mark Shuttleworth and many other people. It is the Bug #1 in Ubuntu initially reported by Mark Shuttleworth.

Here is the description of the bug:

Microsoft has a majority market share in the new desktop PC marketplace.
    This is a bug, which Ubuntu is designed to fix

Microsoft has a majority market share | Non-free software is holding back innovation in the IT industry, restricting access to IT to a small part of the world's population and limiting the ability of software developers to reach their full potential, globally. This bug is widely evident in the PC industry.
    Steps to repeat:
    1. Visit a local PC store.
    What happens:
    2. Observe that a majority of PC's for sale have non-free software pre-installed
    3. Observe very few PC's with Ubuntu and free software pre-installed
    What should happen:
    1. A majority of the PC's for sale should include only free software like Ubuntu
    2. Ubuntu should be marketed in a way such that its amazing features and benefits would be apparent and known by all.
    3. The system shall become more and more user friendly as time
    I hope you take solving this bug problem seriously. It is what "Ubuntuing" is all about. We do this for HUMANITY'S SAKE.
    Last edited by wersdaluv; January 3rd, 2007 at 02:22 AM. Reason: typo

Beans
    Distro