Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: adesklets -> verse of the day on Desktop!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Lightbulb adesklets -> verse of the day on Desktop!

Hey, for anyone interested. I was playing around with adesklets today, and modified and existing one called news feed to display Bible verses on your desktop from an RSS feed. It is the King James Version, modifying it to display others is rather simple, you will have to visit the website and plug a different rss feed into the config.txt. No guarantees as I'm not a programmer. Works great on my computer. Attached is a screen shot so you can see it in action . If you want the tarball you can get it here. Enjoy! If I could figure out how to manipulate it enough to use the .sword text from GnomeSword, or Bible time, I would, but I don't know that much about what I'm doing. Oh, I renamed it goodnewsfeed instead of the newsfeed it was called. Enjoy.

Shane
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by shane2peru; April 6th, 2007 at 10:48 PM. Reason: needed to add screenshot!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: adesklets -> verse of the day on Desktop!

Good job Shane.

Beans
    Distro

Post Re: adesklets -> verse of the day on Desktop!

Here is a little How to:

Ok here are some simple instructions for installing and using the goodnewsfeed desklet. After you download it and save it in /home/username you are going to want to extract it. Either open your favorite file manager, and right click on the file named goodnewsfeed.... .tar and select extract here. Or, if you prefer the terminal you can type:
    Code:
    tar -xvf goodnewsfeed(tab)
    Where you see (tab) hit the tab key and it will finish that file name for you.

Ok, once it is extracted, you will want to keep it in a place where you won't delete it. That is the reason I keep all mine in a folder called .desklets. If you want to make that folder you can type in the terminal:
    Code: