Thread: :impressed: The Distro I've been waiting for

Beans

Cool :impressed: The Distro I've been waiting for

I'm impressed. Ubuntu 'just works'. Something I've been waiting for since the days of RedHat 9. I think Redhat was on the right track if they stuck with it but at the same time I felt paranoid, checking weekly to see if they would start twisting there words, charging high prices, making design choices not based on the communities majority vote, etc.

I stuck in my Ubuntu CD, booted - didn't even mind the (very easy) non-gui installer. It gave me very few options, which I like when Im installing and TADA, im left with a (keep in mind, I've never used a Debian distro before, it's abandoment made me feel that the distro and it's concepts were outdated) OS that 'just works' and is ready to expand with all the applications I need as a System Administrator.

Amazing, DVD playback, my iPod shuffle, VMware, it all just works. I come from Gentoo / BSD's. I like control, otherwise my OS feels 'dirty' and find myself reformatting everytime I want to add on a new service / new concept to managing my personal data, etc. what a pain in the ass.

The Gnome "Live CD" for there 2.10 release is what informed be about Ubuntu. I lvoe Gnome. KDE has a lot of power, but Gnome has always had a better vibe (yea, I know it's code, I mean the vibe, passion of the developers and concepts). I noticed it was /very/ hard to find the Release Notes when I first stumbled upon the page. I also think a lot of things could be better automated / done in the backgroud. Not bashing Ubuntu, I just want to see you guys at the top.