Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Beans
    474
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    The Ubuntu-Women group will be having a meetup in IRC in #Ubuntu-Women on irc.freenode.net on Thursday January 11, 2007 and into Friday the 12th.

    Two specific times set aside to try to accommodate different timezones and be a starting point:

    • 15:00 UTC (3 PM London) Group 1
    • 03:00 UTC, Friday, 12 January 2007 (3 AM London)

    Check out timeanddate.com to find your local time

    Proposed topics:
    • Introductions/Interests
    • What is out there already/Where to find resources
    • HCI Group
    • Education Group
    • Mentoring
    • A How-To Tutorial (any volunteers?)


    Please see: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UbuntuWomenIRCMeetup for more information.

    We'd really love to see some new women showing up in the channel for this
    Last edited by elizabeth; December 22nd, 2006 at 12:51 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Hi Lyz, I'll drop by
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests by PM, thanks |

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    ...
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Is this a 'Women' only affair?
    If your computer has been programmed to accept my arbitrary code, then there is no moral or ethical violation committed when I introduce my code to yours.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Beans
    474
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Is this a 'Women' only affair?
    No. The channel is, and always has been, open to all genders. This meeting is no exception

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    ...
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    I'll make sure I'm free then.
    If your computer has been programmed to accept my arbitrary code, then there is no moral or ethical violation committed when I introduce my code to yours.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Beans
    1,678
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Uh, 13:00 is 1 pm.

    LinuxChix | Linux User #432169 | Ubuntu User #8495 | IRC: maco @ irc.linuxchix.org or irc.freenode.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    2 exits past crazy
    Beans
    4,223
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Since the mods apparently have no sense of humor, and just in case other forum members don't either, I have removed the original content of this post.

    Bah Humbug.

    Last edited by yabbadabbadont; December 20th, 2006 at 11:04 PM.

  8. #8

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Quote Originally Posted by macogw View Post
    Uh, 13:00 is 1 pm.
    Good catch. I checked the original message on the ubuntu-women mailing list, and I believe this is the correct schedule:

    1.) Group 1 starting at 15:00 UTC (3 PM London), Thursday, Jan 11, 2007

    New York (U.S.A. - New York) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 10:00:00 AM UTC-5 hours EST
    Houston (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 9:00:00 AM UTC-6 hours CST
    San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 7:00:00 AM UTC-8 hours PST
    Sydney (Australia - New South Wales) Friday, January 12, 2007 at 2:00:00 AM UTC+11 hours EST
    Manila (Philippines) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 11:00:00 PM UTC+8 hours

    2.) Group 2 starting 12 hours later at Friday, January 12, 2007 at 03:00:00 UTC (3 AM London)

    New York (U.S.A. - New York) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 10:00:00 PM UTC-5 hours EST
    Houston (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 9:00:00 PM UTC-6 hours CST
    San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 7:00:00 PM UTC-8 hours PST
    Sydney (Australia - New South Wales) Friday, January 12, 2007 at 2:00:00 PM UTC+11 hours EST
    Manila (Philippines) Friday, January 12, 2007 at 11:00:00 AM UTC+8 hours Corresponding UTC (GMT)

    I'll see if I can ask Elizabeth to edit her post. I could do it for her, but I would prefer she could confirm these times, since the ones in the wiki also seem suspect. Thanks again for spotting that.
    Ubuntu user #7247 :: Linux user #409907
    inconsolation.wordpress.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Beans
    474
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    Quote Originally Posted by K.Mandla View Post
    I'll see if I can ask Elizabeth to edit her post. I could do it for her, but I would prefer she could confirm these times, since the ones in the wiki also seem suspect. Thanks again for spotting that.
    You're absolutely right about the mistake, it looks like there was a typo on the wiki that I copied for this announcement

    I've updated my original forum post and the wiki to reflect the correct time.

    Thanks!
    Elizabeth Krumbach // pleia2 // lyz@ubuntu.com
    http://princessleia.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Ubuntu-Women IRC Meetup

    So the IRC meetings were held. You can read a summary on Ubuntu-Women wiki :
    http://wiki.ubuntu-women.org/Meetings/20070111
    and download the full log.
    The next meeting will be held in two weeks, on January 25th at 13:00 and
    1:00 UTC.

    Thank you for making this happen
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests by PM, thanks |

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •