Thread: Best Python Wrapper

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Best Python Wrapper

Hello everyone.

Currently I am a student and as an undergraduate research project, I will be writing a simulator (for something top secret ) in python. This simulator will require a GUI of some sort.

I want the simulator to be cross platform---more specifically, I want it to run on linux, windows, and mac osx.

I went to the bookstore and picked up one of O'Reilly's Python books and started reading through it. Here's his take on the most popular python wrappers:

Tkinter
    -widely used/de facto standard
    -mature, well documented
    -no changes needed for source code

wxWidgets
    -better for sophiscated interfaces
    -more complex than Tkinter
    -more code needed
    -less documentation
    -richer set of widgets

PyQT
    -complex but feature rich
    -license issues (probably does not apply to me)

PyGTK
    -works on OSX (provided an X server for OSX is installed)

Basically, he favors Tkinter and that's the wrapper he goes on to teach in the book.

My question for all of you is what would be the best python wrapper for me to use? Which wrapper best finds that balance between appearance and portability? I don't mind spending a day or two porting but definitely not weeks.

The reasons I want to use Tkinter is because it looks pretty decent under windows,O'Reilly uses it in his book, and it ships with python so it is available on the lab computers here at school. On the other hand, Tkinter looks pretty aweful (from the screenshots I've seen) under linux or OSX.

But as for the other wrappers, I don't have any opinion either way.
    Last edited by mustang; December 12th, 2006 at 10:42 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Best Python Wrapper