Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Beans
    129
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Here's a simple one.

    First off, I may say that if you're a REAL retro-gamer, you cannot beat Dosbox! All those classic MS DOS games are at your fingertips in this excellent "emulator". I'm currently enjoying Prince of Persia, Populous, Jungle Strike, Thexder 1 and 2, and the DOS version of Sim City 2000.

    Here we go:

    This works with version 0.63-2 of Dosbox, which is in the repositories.

    INSTALLING DOSBOX

    1) Click SYSTEM then ADMINISTRATION then SYNAPTIC PACKAGE MANAGER

    2) Enter your password

    3) Click any line in the upper left window, then type DOS This will take you down to dosbox. Right click the box and select MARK FOR INSTALLATION

    4) Click Apply.

    Synaptic will download and install DOSBOX.

    HOW TO AUTOMOUNT DRIVE

    1) Open a terminal session, and it should take you to your home directory. If not, type cd /home/yourname/

    2) Create a directory to store your DOS programs in. I called mine dosprog, so I typed mkdir dosprog The full pathname to this file is home/yourname/dosprog

    3) Open dosbox by typing dosbox

    4) You are now in the dosbox shell. Neat, huh? Note that it automatically puts you at the Z:\ drive We want to change that. Try typing in the dos command C: Note that it says the drive doesn't exist. We could mount the C drive everytime we open dosbox by typing mount c /home/yourname/dosprog everytime, but why do that whendosbox can create a configuration file to take care of that for you! But first we need to create the file.

    5) At the dosbox Z:\ prompt, type in config -writeconf /home/yourname/dosbox.conf You now have the configuration file.

    6) Type exit. This puts you back in your terminal session

    7) Type sudo gedit dosbox.conf This will open the dosbox configuration file.

    8 ) Scroll down the dosbox.conf file to this section:

    Code:
    [autoexec]
    # Lines in this section will be run at startup.
    Type the following in on a new line:

    mount c /home/yourname/dosprog

    This will automatically mount the C: drive to your dosprog directory.

    8a) If you want dosbox to automatically start on the C: drive, enter C: on a new line after your mount line.

    (for more info on what the dosbox.conf file can do, check the FAQ at http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/wiki/i...ge=dosbox.conf )

    9) Save and quit gedit.

    10) Now at the terminal prompt, type in dosbox It should auto mount the C: drive, (and if you followed step 8a, it will also start you on the C: drive)

    That's all there is to it!

    Now get out there and find yourself some abandonware!
    "Who is THE DRIZZLE?"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Hereford, England
    Beans
    236
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Nice post cheers, I had DosBox installed but was trying to figure out how to get the dosbox.conf created so your post really helped thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    2,031

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Thanks for the post! I knew I had done it before but couldn't remember how.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Most people might want to add "C:" without quotes after the mount line, to automatically go to the C drive.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Beans
    692
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    DosBox would for some reason not recognize my config file.

    Solution:
    Code:
    mkdir ~/.dosbox
    dosbox
    # Enter withing DosBox:
    config -writeconf /home/YOURUSERNAME/.dosbox/dosbox.conf
    exit
    # Back to terminal:
    cd ~
    echo 'dosbox -conf ~/.dosbox/dosbox.conf' > bin/dosbox.sh
    chmod u+x bin/dosbox.sh
    # Then start dosbox with:
    ~/bin/dosbox.sh

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    84

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    thanks for the howto!

    Btw, when I try to run tt(tt.exe) it says i need it to run on win32, how do i do this?
    Last edited by marenkar; October 13th, 2007 at 08:24 AM.
    yo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Beans
    133
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Is there anything in the conf file you can edit to increase the size of the display for certain games?

    And i dont mean alt + enter for full screen either.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Karelia, Russia
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    Quote Originally Posted by motin View Post
    DosBox would for some reason not recognize my config file.

    Solution:
    Code:
    mkdir ~/.dosbox
    dosbox
    # Enter withing DosBox:
    config -writeconf /home/YOURUSERNAME/.dosbox/dosbox.conf
    exit
    # Back to terminal:
    cd ~
    echo 'dosbox -conf ~/.dosbox/dosbox.conf' > bin/dosbox.sh
    chmod u+x bin/dosbox.sh
    # Then start dosbox with:
    ~/bin/dosbox.sh
    You can do it another way:
    Code:
    mv ~/.dosbox/dosbox.conf ~/.dosboxrc
    and after that just run 'dosbox' without arguments.

    So, dosbox checks file "~/.dosboxrc" while running, neither "dosbox.conf".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Beans
    1

    Wink Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    optimized by yours truly ... the perfect dosbox.conf copy and paste over your old conf for maximum happiness.
    Code:
    [sdl]
    fullscreen=false
    fulldouble=false
    fullresolution=original
    windowresolution=original
    output=opengl
    autolock=true
    sensitivity=100
    waitonerror=true
    priority=highest
    mapperfile=mapper.txt
    usescancodes=true
    [dosbox]
    language=
    machine=vga
    captures=capture
    memsize=32
    [render]
    frameskip=0
    aspect=false
    scaler=supereagle
    [cpu]
    core=auto
    cycles=20000
    cycleup=0
    cycledown=0
    [mixer]
    nosound=false
    rate=22050
    blocksize=1024
    prebuffer=44
    [midi]
    mpu401=uart
    device=oss
    config=
    [sblaster]
    sbtype=sb2
    sbbase=220
    irq=7
    dma=1
    hdma=5
    mixer=true
    oplmode=auto
    oplrate=22050
    [gus]
    gus=true
    gusrate=22050
    gusbase=240
    irq1=5
    irq2=5
    dma1=3
    dma2=3
    ultradir=C:\ULTRASND
    [speaker]
    pcspeaker=true
    pcrate=22050
    tandy=auto
    tandyrate=22050
    disney=false
    [joystick]
    joysticktype=auto
    timed=true
    autofire=false
    swap34=false
    buttonwrap=true
    [serial]
    serial1=dummy
    serial2=dummy
    serial3=disabled
    serial4=disabled
    [dos]
    xms=true
    ems=true
    umb=true
    keyboardlayout=none
    [ipx]
    ipx=false
    [autoexec]
    mount C /media/Iomega HDD/dos
    C:
    cd bstone

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: HOWTO: Auto mount a drive in DOSBOX

    can anyone help with this???? How can i compile c programs using dosbox???????

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •