Page 2 of 41 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 401

Thread: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    71

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by aidanr View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RF7FgWcIxg8

    works pretty well, although using it without those two switches you posted resulted in a crash when pressing ctrl+c
    If it happened after pressing ctrl-c it's the --zero-compression switch.
    (though I can't imagine why yet)
    The program must have left a folder rMD-session-(num) on your home folder, which you should delete(it probably takes up lots of space).

    Can you tell me what files where in the folder?
    Also did it procceed at all at the encoding or did it crash immediately?
    Last thing, if it's not much trouble, can you try again?
    I haven't added error handling on IO yet, so it might have been a
    simple read error(or a previous write error).


    thanks.

    EDIT:Aidanr I see there's one more video on you account that is not correct. I can't make out the output,
    but counting the lines it seems to be v0.2.6 (unless you've run with --no-wm-check).
    Can you verify on this, because beryl has changed the name it reports a couple of times and
    I want to make sure I haven't missed any of it.
    Last edited by iovar; November 13th, 2006 at 12:13 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    1,116
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    thats weird, i reinstalled and it works now without those switches
    earlier it crashed immediately without encoding, it printed out 15 or 20 lines of errors, can't remember what they were now, at least one of them was to do with /usr/lib/libogg.so, and it left that folder in my home directory

    i installed the old version first, then the gtk frontend, then installed the newer version, then uninstalled both and just now reinstalled the newer version again

    anyway, works now, very nice app

    btw yes the other video was with the earlier version

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Rome, Ga
    Beans
    2,339
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    What kind of resource hog is this? Could one possibly run this and a game at the same time to record what is going on?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    71

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by aidanr View Post
    thats weird, i reinstalled and it works now without those switches
    earlier it crashed immediately without encoding, it printed out 15 or 20 lines of errors, can't remember what they were now, at least one of them was to do with /usr/lib/libogg.so, and it left that folder in my home directory

    i installed the old version first, then the gtk frontend, then installed the newer version, then uninstalled both and just now reinstalled the newer version again

    anyway, works now, very nice app

    btw yes the other video was with the earlier version
    Oops, when I've read your previous post, I thought it was the switches that caused the problem. Anyway though, it was probably a random read or
    write error. I'll make sure to get those before releasing the final version.


    Thanks a lot for claryfing things!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    71

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    @BLTicklemonster:
    If it is a relatively light game, on a low resoulution and on a strong pc, then maybe...

    I got this on my p4 3.2 on 640x480@15 fps:
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...69084169&hl=en
    running the program like this:
    recordmydesktop --quick-subsampling --zero-compression --full-shots --with-shared -windowid 0x4000076 -o warzone2100-1.ogg -v_quality 24 -s_quality 4

    (to get a windowid you need to run xwininfo first)

    As you see a-v sync is bad(sound stays 2-3 seconds ahead)
    It also needed about 1gb of free space for the 5 minute recording.


    Other than that, to anyone using this program, or istanbul,
    you can upload ogg/theora directly on google video.
    I don't know why they don't mention it on the accepted formats, but it works fine.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    39

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    I need some help getting my sound to record. I've messed with some things in alsamixer and I've tried the built in gnome mixer. I just can't get any sound to record. I'd like it to record anything that plays in my desktop. Like music for example. I've even tried to get it to work with a mic. but I can't get that to work either.

    Anyways, very nice program. I got it recording my beryl desktop much better than xvidcap could do.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Rome, Ga
    Beans
    2,339
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Um how do you get it to turn off once you start recording?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    39

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    If you are using the command-line, press CTRL-C. I haven't really used the GUI tool, but I think it's an icon in the taskbar.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lake Havasu City, Arizona
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    When I try to install the deb with the deb installer, I get a message to the effect that the dependency of the deb is unsatisfyable libasound2.

    I thought I was missing the file, but it's there..I tried to disable sound capture, but that didn't help..

    Any ideas?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    71

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by djsroknrol View Post
    When I try to install the deb with the deb installer, I get a message to the effect that the dependency of the deb is unsatisfyable libasound2.

    I thought I was missing the file, but it's there..I tried to disable sound capture, but that didn't help..

    Any ideas?
    It's an edgy package, not a dapper one. Looking at http://packages.ubuntu.com/,
    shows that you can satisfy the dependency (libasound2 (>> 1.0.11) , while dapper is at 1.0.10) ,
    if you enable the backports repository.

Page 2 of 41 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •