Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: alt character codes

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

alt character codes

hi.. i'm new in linux and often need to use french accents in documents (for example in OO) like ... in windows, there are codes you can use on your keyboard like ALT + 130 to produce the symbol... i've noticed in linux, the alt codes do not work. is there any plans for support of this feature? im sure it would be quite appreciated by a lot of people.. it's a common annoyonance.. umm.. for now i'm using kcharselect, but it's time consuming and i'm so used to the alt codes in ms word... manually copying each accent to the clipboard and then pasting it is so un-natural when your typing a document.. is anybody aware of any plans to impliment or any shorter ways i can set it up to accept alt codes in ubuntu ?? thanks !!!
    "It was all so different before everything changed."

Beans

Re: alt character codes

I can input special characters by holding ctrl + shift and then typing a four digit hex value (0-9, a-f). It can't be ascii (only two hex digits) it must be unicode codes or something, but I think you can get those from kcharselect or something similar.
    Don't peach linux. Melon it!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Quote Originally Posted by markster23 View Post