Page 10 of 21 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 205

Thread: How to fstab

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    25

    How to gain full permission on 2nd drive?

    Fantastic guide, by the way. Some of it is far above my tiny dinosaur brain, but learning and experimenting is fun. Here's my deal.

    (1) New HD (2nd drive used as a backup device);
    (2) Got it mounted (I think); it shows up in Nautilus; however,
    (3a) If I do a sudo mount -a command, it returns, "mount point /media/bak/ does not exist"; also,
    (3b) I do not have permission to create folders, copy files to it, etc.

    Here's my current fstab file, which is ugly, I know:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # /dev/sda1
    UUID=74f8afb2-b1cc-4909-b598-1014eeef8229 / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /dev/sda5
    UUID=e23ed4d9-d618-498d-820d-a3a0e513b5ce none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    #/dev/sdb1
    UUID=ecd8a66d-6d7a-404b-b63a-9fb76325ebfe /media/bak/ ext3 defaults 0 0
    How do I gain full permission to the sdb1 drive for everything?

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Gwangju, Korea
    Beans
    3,479

    Re: How to gain full permission on 2nd drive?

    Quote Originally Posted by zaine_ridling View Post
    (3a) If I do a sudo mount -a command, it returns, "mount point /media/bak/ does not exist"; also,
    Mount points have to exist. So create /media/bak. If Nautilus show it, you shoud type "mount" to see where it's mounted. But Nautilus sometimes uses GVFS to mount stuff, and GVFS has its own ways of handling things. Creating your mount point will probably cure everything, though.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: How to fstab

    Thanks mssever. Not sure how to get to 'that' 2nd drive in the terminal. Here's what I typed:

    $ sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/bak
    $ mount: mount point /media/bak does not exist
    And yes, both show up in Nautilus. Which command/s should I use to check for the "real" mount point?

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to fstab

    You need to make the mount point :

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/bak
    sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /media/bak
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: How to fstab

    Thanks for the follow-up, bodhi. That didn't work either. I still get a "permission denied" whenever I try to copy or move anything to it.



    Perhaps my problem is that I formatted this as a primary drive rather than extended? I intended it to be a discrete drive. And when I'm at the command line, I don't know how to navigate to this 2nd drive labeled 1000.2 GB Media.
    Last edited by zaine_ridling; September 13th, 2008 at 12:37 AM.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to fstab

    no, you are making progress. The drive mounted and now you simply have a permissions problem.

    It appears as if the file system is ext3, so ...

    Code:
    chown user.user /media/bak
    where "user" = you log in name
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: How to fstab

    That worked! I'm grateful, bodhi!

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Doha
    Beans
    64

    Re: How to fstab

    Thanks, Mr.Bodhi. This article helped me to understand the way the linux looks at the file system.

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: How to fstab

    Good guide.. Thanks

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    108

    Re: How to fstab

    Quote Originally Posted by bodhi.zazen View Post
    First install ntfsprogs:
    Code:
    sudo aptitude install ntfsporgs
    Or use Synaptic.
    Just a little typo: "ntfsporgs" doesn't exist.
    -mike

Page 10 of 21 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •