Page 2074 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 1074157419742024206420722073207420752076208421242174 ... LastLast
Results 20,731 to 20,740 of 23480

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #20731
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV.
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    This is the results of the sensor command:

    ~$ sensors
    coretemp-isa-0000
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 0: +49.0°C (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    Core 1: +49.0°C (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

    w83627dhg-isa-0290
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Vcore: +1.18 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +1.74 V)
    in1: +1.62 V (min = +1.60 V, max = +1.32 V) ALARM
    AVCC: +3.38 V (min = +0.16 V, max = +2.21 V) ALARM
    +3.3V: +3.38 V (min = +2.61 V, max = +1.02 V) ALARM
    in4: +1.83 V (min = +1.05 V, max = +1.02 V) ALARM
    in5: +1.26 V (min = +1.80 V, max = +1.06 V) ALARM
    in6: +0.11 V (min = +0.56 V, max = +0.67 V) ALARM
    3VSB: +3.30 V (min = +0.02 V, max = +2.05 V) ALARM
    Vbat: +3.18 V (min = +0.26 V, max = +1.28 V) ALARM
    fan1: 1506 RPM (min = 8035 RPM, div = 8) ALARM
    fan2: 2410 RPM (min = 799 RPM, div = 8)
    fan3: 0 RPM (min = 2343 RPM, div = 32) ALARM
    fan4: 0 RPM (min = 337500 RPM, div = 4) ALARM
    fan5: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM, div = 4) ALARM
    temp1: +77.0°C (high = -128.0°C, hyst = +16.0°C) ALARM sensor = diode
    temp2: +42.0°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) sensor = diode
    temp3: +121.5°C (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C) ALARM sensor = thermistor
    cpu0_vid: +0.000 V
    intrusion0: ALARM

    When I run the command ${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°
    bash: ${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°: bad substitution- is the result.

    When I run the conky command, I get the original error message, even after replacing the old file with your clean code.
    I answered yes to all the questions when I installed the lm-sensors package. It didn't say anything about finding anything wrong.

    When I run conky-v I get this:
    conky -v
    WARNING: gnome-keyring:: couldn't connect to: /tmp/keyring-6hP6cb/pkcs11: No such file or directory
    Conky 1.8.1 compiled Fri Dec 16 17:59:40 UTC 2011 for Linux 2.6.24-29-server (i686)

    Compiled in features:

    System config file: /etc/conky/conky.conf
    Package library path: /usr/lib/conky

    X11:
    * Xdamage extension
    * XDBE (double buffer extension)
    * Xft
    * ARGB visual

    Music detection:
    * Audacious
    * MPD
    * MOC
    * XMMS2

    General:
    * math
    * hddtemp
    * portmon
    * Curl
    * RSS
    * Weather (METAR)
    * Weather (XOAP)
    * wireless
    * support for IBM/Lenovo notebooks
    * nvidia
    * eve-online
    * config-output
    * Imlib2
    * apcupsd
    * iostats
    * ncurses
    * Lua

    Lua bindings:
    * Cairo
    * Imlib2
    Last edited by rolypolycat; October 12th, 2012 at 04:00 AM.
    The Doctor: The best thing about a machine that makes sense is you can very easily make it turn out nonsense.

  2. #20732
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by rolypolycat View Post
    This is the results of the sensor command:

    When I run the conky command, I get the original error message, even after replacing the old file with your clean code.
    I answered yes to all the questions when I installed the lm-sensors package. It didn't say anything about finding anything wrong.
    RE: lm-sensors - No and it won't show errors, it just set up sensors so you can use them.

    We'll get to that shortly ...

    OK, first you need to upgrade your conky to v1.9.0-2
    v1.8.1 has problems. Adding this repo is getting the conky from the builder of the program and is a recommended for Ubuntu.

    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:vincent-c/conky
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install conky-all
    What do you get if you type
    Code:
    hddtemp /dev/sda
    in a terminal

    I get:
    Code:
      12 Oct 12 | 00:30:13 ~
             $ hddtemp /dev/sda
    /dev/sda: WDC WD2500AAJS-00VWA0: 32°C
    
      12 Oct 12 | 00:30:23 ~
             $
    this command:
    Code:
    ${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°
    is for use in the conky.

    If you don't get something like that but have hddtemp installed, do this:

    To recongigure hddtemp
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp
    and answer: YES; Enter; NO!

    then try
    Code:
    hddtemp /dev/sda
    again.

    Get that done and we'll continue.

    @ stinkeye - you around?
    You know Ubuntu systems better than I do. Any advice?

  3. #20733
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    #!
    Beans
    1,749

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Jedcurtis View Post
    First, no it is not anything to do with Conky. Second, if you need the gmusicbrowser music player, simply use the link provided above by Sector11. Second you'll need to install VastOne's plugins. If you click the plugin link to the left it should download VastOne's plugin. Move that to the ~/.config/gmusicbrowser/Plugins folder which you may need to create. From there, just open gmusicbrowser, goto settings, plugins tab, and from the dropdown box select the Lyrics plugin then add. You also obviously need to select the Lyrics plugin listed on the left of the window in order to activate it. Once you clicked on the add button next to the dropdown box, you will see the plugin listed below in the window. Click on it and set it up however you like. It is fairly strait forward.
    VastOne deserves the credit for this as he's the one who offered up his brilliance on my behalf. He has a thread on the #!Crunchbang site you can check out here for even more info. There are several music players that you can get working using Conky, but when VastOne pointed out the simplicity of the gmusicbrowser I totally disregarded the other 17 players listed in his HowTo! Hope this helped! If not the link to VastOne's thread is very clear and concise. Also, since I started using gmusicbrowser, I think it should be the default player installed when you install Linux!

    Jed

    Thanks Jed for the kind words... just one correction, these are layouts and need to be put in your ~/.config/gmusicbrowser/layouts directory

    Here is another How To I have specifically for GMusicBrowser and Layouts.

    VastOne's How To - GMusicBrowser and Layouts

    @LamboDroid - There is a DeskTop Widget lyrics layout that is a part of this, it allows you to put the scrolling lyrics anywhere on your desktop, any size or dimensions you want.

    Cheers

  4. #20734
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Earth, usually...
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    @LamboDroid sorry Vastone is correct! I forgot. Sleeping on the job I guess. I'll blame it on the altitude! I'm sorry I didn't respond sooner, I've been in and out all day...

    Vastone gets all the credit!

    Jed
    Last edited by Jedcurtis; October 12th, 2012 at 06:23 AM.

  5. #20735
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV.
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    @sector11

    I installed everything like you said, and this is what I get now when I run that command:
    /dev/sda: WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0: 36°C
    At last, something shows up besides an error message

    Still get the imlib error when I try to run conky. I'M running the clean code, too; maybe it's my computer that needs a good swift kick?
    The Doctor: The best thing about a machine that makes sense is you can very easily make it turn out nonsense.

  6. #20736
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by rolypolycat View Post
    @sector11

    I installed everything like you said, and this is what I get now when I run that command:
    /dev/sda: WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0: 36°C
    At last, something shows up besides an error message

    Still get the imlib error when I try to run conky. I'M running the clean code, too; maybe it's my computer that needs a good swift kick?
    Hi we're getting there...

    Did you upgrade to conky v1.9.0-2?

    NICE Hard drive! - now you can get the hard drive temp in your conky.

    with this line:
    Code:
    ${color0}HDD Usage: [${color}${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°C${color0}]
    in a terminal do this:
    Code:
    hddtemp -n /dev/sda
    and the resutls will be:
    36
    or whatever the temp happens to be at that time. That's the '-n' option = number only

  7. #20737
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV.
    Beans
    61
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    I followed your instructions for adding the ppa to my sources, and downloaded the files; from the info in the terminal, I believe my conky is the latest one. Something got installed, after all. And I followed the instructions for hddtemp with the answers you gave me.

    The line you wrote:
    ${color0}HDD Usage: [${color}${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°C${color0}]
    Do I add this to my conky? And the other one command as well? If so, where in the file should they go?

    Ran the command:hddtemp -n /dev/sda- got a reply of 37 degrees, so it's holding steady.

    I really appreciate you're helping me with this. I've wanted to use this program for some time, but could never get it to work. Thanks!
    The Doctor: The best thing about a machine that makes sense is you can very easily make it turn out nonsense.

  8. #20738
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    What's up everybody. Total conky noob here(but I'm getting the hang of it), and anyway I'm having some trouble with my conkyforecast. My conky is loading fine but as far as my weather goes it is sending me this error:


    Code:
    File "/usr/share/conkyforecast/conkyForecast.py", line 1698, in <module>
        main()
      File "/usr/share/conkyforecast/conkyForecast.py", line 1694, in main
        forecastinfo = ForecastInfo(options)
      File "/usr/share/conkyforecast/conkyForecast.py", line 592, in __init__
        socket.setdefaulttimeout(self.config.CONNECTION_TIMEOUT)
    Here is the .py file's lines 1694 to 1699

    Code:
            forecastinfo = ForecastInfo(options)
            forecastinfo.writeOutput()
    
    if __name__ == '__main__':
        main()
        sys.exit()
    and here is lines 590-592

    Code:
      # setup timeout for connections
            # TODO: seems like this doesn't work in all cases..
            socket.setdefaulttimeout(self.config.CONNECTION_TIMEOUT)
    This conky is not my creation. I grabbed from a post a few thousand or so back and i'm using it to learn. If anybody could possibly tell me how to fix this problem I'd be much appreciated.
    Cheers.

  9. #20739
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by rolypolycat View Post
    I followed your instructions for adding the ppa to my sources, and downloaded the files; from the info in the terminal, I believe my conky is the latest one. Something got installed, after all. And I followed the instructions for hddtemp with the answers you gave me.

    The line you wrote:
    ${color0}HDD Usage: [${color}${execi 15 hddtemp -n /dev/sda}°C${color0}]
    Do I add this to my conky? And the other one command as well? If so, where in the file should they go?

    Ran the command:hddtemp -n /dev/sda- got a reply of 37 degrees, so it's holding steady.

    I really appreciate you're helping me with this. I've wanted to use this program for some time, but could never get it to work. Thanks!
    Do:
    Code:
    conky -v
    and just tell me, yes or no, if you see a line like this saying Conky 1.9.0
    Code:
    Conky 1.9.0 compiled Fri May 11 15:54:00 UTC 2012 for Linux 2.6.32-5-amd64 (x86_64)
    That will tell you for certain.

    The HDD line should already be there, look at your conky - about half way down do you see:
    Code:
    HDD Usage: [30°C]
    Now lets go back to the terminal:

    Code:
    sensors | grep 'Core 0'
    I hope you see some thing like this:

    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 09:33:32 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'Core 0'
    Core 0: +49.0°C (high = +86.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
    IF you see that ... this line that is looking for you CPU temp:
    Code:
    CPU: ${color}${cpu cpu1}% ${color0}[${color}${hwmon 2 temp 1}C${color0}] ${freq_g}GHz
    will be in for a change.

    For the sake of speed lets say it does work as seen above.

    Since I don't have "Core 1" but I have a 'fan1' I'll use that as a sample:

    First: grep gets the line we want (you use 'Core 0')
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:27:31 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1'
    fan1:        2290 RPM
    Next we start cutting character we do not need:

    Code:
    | cut -character3
    ... but | cut -c3 is much shorter

    that following " - " at the end means: to end of line
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:27:36 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c3-
    n1:        2283 RPM
    notice the first 2 characters are cut - we've cut to the third character.

    Here you see we are getting closer - spaces count.
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:27:42 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c10-
        2283 RPM
    Oops! "| cut -c15-" is one too much:
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:27:50 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c15-
    283 RPM
    back it up one space
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:27:57 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c14-
    2283 RPM
    Now lets get rid of that RPM we need character 14, 15, 16 & 17 - so add the 17 to the end:
    Code:
      13 Oct 12 | 10:28:04 ~
             $ sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c14-17
    2340
    How would I display that in a conky - Like this:

    Code:
    ${color0}Fan ${color}${execi 8 sensors | grep 'fan1' | cut -c14-17} ${color0}RPM
    that line will update the fan speed every 8 seconds

    For your CORE it might look like this

    Code:
    CPU: ${color}${cpu cpu1}% ${color0}[${color}${execi 8 sensors | grep 'Core 0' | cut -c14-15}°C${color0}] ${freq_g}GHz
    This part cut -c14-15 will be the deciding factor.

    Let me know how it goes ... it works wonderful here. Nice little conky:


    BTW; The ending of your first line (your original):

    Code:
    ${freq_dyn}Mhz
    That command doesn't exits in the Conky Variables

    you have two options:
    freq (n)
    Returns CPU #n's frequency in MHz. CPUs are counted from 1. If omitted, the parameter defaults to 1.

    freq_g (n)
    Returns CPU #n's frequency in GHz. CPUs are counted from 1. If omitted, the parameter defaults to 1.
    I think I put it in as GHz for you.

  10. #20740
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by MoralAnarchy View Post
    What's up everybody. Total conky noob here(but I'm getting the hang of it), and anyway I'm having some trouble with my conkyforecast. My conky is loading fine but as far as my weather goes it is sending me this error:
    While conkyForecast still works for some, the people that have the cache set to someplace other than /tmp it is basically defunct. My still works like a charm as I kept all my cache files in ~/Conky/cache:
    Code:
    .conkyForecast-ARBA0009.cache
    .conkyForecast-ARDF0127.cache
    .conkyForecast-AYXX0005.cache
    .conkyForecast-CAXX0255.cache
    .conkyForecast-CAXX0829.cache
    .conkyForecast-CHXX0008.cache
    .conkyForecast-JAXX0077.cache
    .conkyForecast-SPXX0015.cache
    .conkyForecast-SWXX0105.cache
    .conkyForecast-UKXX0103.cache
    .conkyForecast-USAZ0233.cache
    .conkyForecast-USHI0026.cache
    .conkyForecast-USID0066.cache
    .conkyForecast-USIL0062.cache
    .conkyForecast-USMO0960.cache
    .conkyForecast-USNC0204.cache
    .conkyForecast-USTX0057.cache
    I would recommend you look at other alternatives if this is your first attempt.

    There are three great alternatives in my signature:
    v9000 - mrpeachys LUA weather - accuweather
    Teos - uses bash scripts - choose one of four different weather sites.
    ArcLance's script uses bash scripts and uses various site to get more complete info.

Page 2074 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 1074157419742024206420722073207420752076208421242174 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •