Page 637 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 13753758762763563663763863964768773711371637 ... LastLast
Results 6,361 to 6,370 of 23480

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #6361
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by NielsG View Post
    conky-rss.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    # RSS Display Script by Bill Woodford (admin@sdesign.us) v1.0
    #
    #RSS Setup - Don't change unless you want these values hard-coded!
    uri=$1                                                  #URI of RSS Feed
    lines=$2                                                #Number of headlines
    titlenum=$3                                             #Number of extra titles
    #Script start
    #Require a uri, as a minimum
    if [[ "$uri" == "" ]]; then
            echo "No URI specified, cannot continue!" >&2
            echo "Please read script for more information" >&2
    else
            #Set defaults if none specified
            if [[ $lines == "" ]]; then lines=25 ; fi
            if [[ $titlenum == "" ]]; then titlenum=2 ; fi
    
            #The actual work
            curl -s --connect-timeout 30 $uri |\
            sed -e 's/<\/title>/\n/g' |\
            grep -o '<title>.*' |\
            sed -e 's/<title>//' |\
            head -n $(($lines + $titlenum)) |\
            tail -n $(($lines))
    fi
    Hope someone can use this for his own script, i have had alot of cool ideas from this thread.
    I'm totally using that TVRage now! I did edit the conky-rss.sh a bit, replacing the above code in red with:
    Code:
            grep -o '<title>.*'|\
            sed -e 's/\(<title>\)\(.*\)\(<\/title>.*\)/\2/'|\
    Just to eliminate a line of code. I dunno why. I just find that if I can do the same thing with fewer lines of code I just have to do it. Even if it's just one line less.

  2. #6362
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Is it possible to write conky script for one line scrolling rss feeds?
    I need something like that.

  3. #6363
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by na12 View Post
    Is it possible to write conky script for one line scrolling rss feeds?
    I need something like that.
    Yes it is. Just use:
    Code:
    ${scroll XX whatever-text-or-variable-you-want}
    XX is the number of characters you want to display at one time of the text scrolling.

    EDIT: The scrolling speed is dependent on the time of your update interval.
    Last edited by easybake; April 2nd, 2009 at 10:08 PM.
    I have a strong hatred of KDE

  4. #6364
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Permbroke Pines, Fl
    Beans
    65
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Question Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    These rc's are awesome but I can't get the icons or logos to show up - all I get are letters like "U" for Ubuntu - can u help?
    Why use windows, when Linux opens the doors for you?

    Registered User# 400765

  5. #6365
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by andril View Post
    These rc's are awesome but I can't get the icons or logos to show up - all I get are letters like "U" for Ubuntu - can u help?
    Do you have the Open Logos font in your fonts folder? If you do you could just put this in your conky to have the Logo show up

    Code:
    ${font OpenLogos:size=35} u
    Last edited by easybake; April 2nd, 2009 at 11:29 PM.
    I have a strong hatred of KDE

  6. #6366
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    332

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Crinos512 View Post
    OK, I have hit upon a Major Idea(tm) in conky design...

    ...the down side is I need someone who knows how to design fonts to collaberate this with me.


    PM me, please!



    I'll hold my silence until I hear from you... but don't keep me waiting for too long!

    I want to see this.
    I have a strong hatred of KDE

  7. #6367
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by easybake View Post
    Do you have the Open Logos font in your fonts folder? If you do you could just put this in your conky to have the Logo show up

    Code:
    ${font OpenLogos:size=35} u
    Quote Originally Posted by andril View Post
    These rc's are awesome but I can't get the icons or logos to show up - all I get are letters like "U" for Ubuntu - can u help?
    stylebats is the other popular font to use for an image.
    The mark of an honest man ... is that he means what he says and knows what he means.
    A.R.

  8. #6368
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Hi,

    Is there anyway to just have a config only show a clock and weather and nothing else?

    Can anyone hook it up with a config if possible if somebody else has done this?

  9. #6369
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The U. S. of A.
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs down Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by easybake View Post
    I want to see this.
    heh, t-mo_ and I are still hammering this out, but I'm certain that it will go over well.

    Last edited by Crinos512; April 3rd, 2009 at 06:57 AM.
    || Kubuntu x86_64 (15.10 Dev.) || KDE 4.9.00 ||
    || Dell Inspiron 570 || 8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM || AMD Phenom II X4 820 @ 2.8Ghz ||
    || Logitech M570 Trackball || Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard ||
    Conky: ... no such configuration: 'normal'

  10. #6370
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    /US/EC/DC
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by villainy View Post
    Hi,

    Is there anyway to just have a config only show a clock and weather and nothing else?

    Can anyone hook it up with a config if possible if somebody else has done this?
    Yes, there is a way. Look through this thread. Most configs have a clock and some have weather. Strip everything else out and you've got it.
    Warranty? Who needs a warranty?
    If it ain't broke, take it apart and fix it.

Page 637 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 13753758762763563663763863964768773711371637 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •