Page 2054 of 2274 FirstFirst ... 1054155419542004204420522053205420552056206421042154 ... LastLast
Results 20,531 to 20,540 of 22732

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #20531
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    121
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    i have one problem
    .conkyrc files have to be placed into /home folder
    where are other files supposed to go?
    lua, fonts and other scripts etc??

  2. #20532
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by sid0972 View Post
    i have one problem
    .conkyrc files have to be placed into /home folder
    where are other files supposed to go?
    lua, fonts and other scripts etc??
    Place fonts in ~/.fonts
    Create the ~/.fonts folder if you don't have one.
    ~ is short for /home/username
    Eg ...for me "~" equals /home/glen

    Lua scripts etc can be placed anywhere.
    Just make sure to check the paths in the conky config.

    Eg I keep everything in ~/conky with sub folders for
    configs, Lua and scripts.
    Then just alter any downloaded config to reflect these locations.

    Saving configs with a descriptive name and then loading with conky -c /path/to/config also aids
    in keeping things organized.
    Eg I have a Gmail conky @ ~/conky/configs/Gmail.conkyrc
    and to load use...
    Code:
    conky -c ~/conky/configs/Gmail.conkyrc
    Last edited by stinkeye; September 9th, 2012 at 08:46 AM.

  3. #20533
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    And as for me, I install fonts system wide by double clicking it, which opens font viewer, where is "install" option.

    As for conkyrc, I put everything Conky in ~/.conky directory, LUA scripts for conky in ~/.conky/lua , other scripts in ~/.conky/conkyparts and so on, as I need.

    I load Conky by
    Code:
    conky -c ~/.conky/conkyrc-test45
    for example, if I test something,[advertisement] but overall, I load Conky by One4All project, by
    Code:
    ~/.conky/one4all/one4all-start.sh
    script, which loads One4All Conky project with desired configuration.
    [/advertisement]
    Last edited by dk75; September 10th, 2012 at 07:44 AM.
    Linux Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12.10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Lenovo T61, Intel X3100, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
    Linux user No.: 483055 | My Conky Pitstop corner | One4All project

  4. #20534
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    The Desert
    Beans
    281
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by dk75 View Post
    And as for me, I install fonts system wide by double clicking it, which opens font viewer, where is "install" option.

    As for conkyrc, I put everything Conky in ~/.conky directory, LUA scripts for conky in ~/.conky/lua , other scripts in ~/.conky/conkyparts and so on, as I need.

    I load Conky by
    Code:
    conky -c ~/.conky/conkyrc-test45
    for example, if I test something,[advertisement] but overall, I load Conky by One4All project, by
    Code:
    ~/.conky/one4all/one4all.sh
    script, which loads One4All Conky project with desired configuration.
    [/advertisement]
    hahahahahhahaha i love the advertisement. I could never get one4all to work for me.
    I'm a super power user

  5. #20535
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SR11 Cockpit
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by djyoung4 View Post
    hahahahahhahaha i love the advertisement. I could never get one4all to work for me.
    Wait, what's that I see in your sig:
    I'm a super power user.


    Yea, we must be in the same boat. I have to admit I've tried and two things happen, in no particular order:

    1.

    2.

    Been a long time ago though as I've had some pretty pressing life stuff going on lately.

    I'll have to try again, I have everything here.

  6. #20536
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Ok.
    Well start form basics.

    Make sure, that one4all/flibs/active have 2 files inside (it should by default, but lets check):
    Code:
    one4all_cairo.flib
    one4all_main.flib
    Now, check, that one4all/modules/active is empty.
    If it is empty, then copy londonali1010_airclock.module from one4all/modules/available to one4all/modules/active.

    Now, run one4all/one4all-start.sh
    Linux Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12.10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Lenovo T61, Intel X3100, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
    Linux user No.: 483055 | My Conky Pitstop corner | One4All project

  7. #20537
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SR11 Cockpit
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by dk75 View Post
    Ok.
    Well start form basics.

    Make sure, that one4all/flibs/active have 2 files inside (it should by default, but lets check):
    Code:
    one4all_cairo.flib
    one4all_main.flib
    Now, check, that one4all/modules/active is empty.
    If it is empty, then copy londonali1010_airclock.module from one4all/modules/available to one4all/modules/active.

    Now, run one4all/one4all-start.sh
    Ok ... here we go...
    First I extracted 'One4all-0.2.7.tar.gz' over an older one at /home/sector11/one4all

    ... and started:
    Code:
    /home/sector11/one4all/flibs/active/one4all_main.flib
    /home/sector11/one4all/flibs/active/one4all_cairo.flib
    Done!

    Code:
    /home/sector11/one4all/modules/active
    EMPTY!

    Copied a different one - no idea why
    Code:
    /home/sector11/one4all/modules/active/s11_cronograph_dk75mod.module
    Done!

    running one4all/one4all-start.sh ... and:



    That's pretty slick dk75! Thanks!


    So what are these for:
    Code:
    /home/sector11/one4all/active
    /home/sector11/one4all/active/airclock.module
    
    /home/sector11/one4all/available
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/test2.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/test1.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/date_box.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/analog_clock.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[wolfur]_bargraph_small.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_rings.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_photo_album.module-edit_in_progress
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_clock_hands.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_cairo_pie.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_airclock.module
    
    /home/sector11/one4all/data
    Also is there and easy way to make a LUA script into an all4one module or does one have to be a LUA programmer to do that?

    Can they be reversed - back to a straight LUA?

  8. #20538
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Sector11 View Post
    So what are these for:
    Code:
    /home/sector11/one4all/active
    /home/sector11/one4all/active/airclock.module
    
    /home/sector11/one4all/available
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/test2.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/test1.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/date_box.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/analog_clock.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[wolfur]_bargraph_small.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_rings.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_photo_album.module-edit_in_progress
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_clock_hands.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_cairo_pie.module
    /home/sector11/one4all/available/[londonali1010]_airclock.module
    
    /home/sector11/one4all/data
    These are old modules, from alpha stage, probably buggy, though might work with no problem.
    But better delete it and download new one.



    Quote Originally Posted by Sector11 View Post
    Also is there and easy way to make a LUA script into an all4one module or does one have to be a LUA programmer to do that?

    Can they be reversed - back to a straight LUA?
    Yeah, why not...
    Look at the test modules, they are reeeeeeaaaaaaly simply, mostly prints to terminal only.
    After you play with them, then look at londonali1010 airclock and at dk75 background module - these are simpler one to understand (AFAIK).



    PS: one more thing: in module names only alphanumerics are allowed with addition of underscore and dot, and filename should begin with letter - otherwise it will not be loaded
    That's my experience from pushing it from alpha to beta stage
    Last edited by dk75; September 10th, 2012 at 07:58 PM.
    Linux Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12.10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Lenovo T61, Intel X3100, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
    Linux user No.: 483055 | My Conky Pitstop corner | One4All project

  9. #20539
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SR11 Cockpit
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by dk75 View Post
    These are old modules, from alpha stage, probably buggy, though might work with no problem.
    But better delete it and download new one.
    Well, I did say:
    First I extracted 'One4all-0.2.7.tar.gz' over an older one at /home/sector11/one4all


    I'll add an -old-DO_NOT_USE to the directory name just so I have 'even more samples'

    Quote Originally Posted by dk75 View Post
    Yeah, why not...
    Look at the test modules, they are reeeeeeaaaaaaly simply, mostly prints to terminal only.
    After you play with them, then look at londonali1010 airclock and at dk75 background module - these are simpler one to understand (AFAIK).
    reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaly simple: How many apples is:
    ((3x9)-7)/2 to a 6 year old.

    But if you know what you're doing!

    Quote Originally Posted by dk75 View Post
    PS: one more thing: in module names only alphanumerics are allowed with addition of underscore and dot, and filename should begin with letter - otherwise it will not be loaded
    That's my experience from pushing it from alpha to beta stage
    OH!!! That's something for the 'README', it's the first 3 of the 3 threes that are there. I do the same thing at times.

  10. #20540
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Sector11 View Post
    reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaly simple: How many apples is:
    ((3x9)-7)/2 to a 6 year old.

    But if you know what you're doing!
    OK. Lets walk through test01.module:

    Code:
    -- test01.module
    it's comment, you know?



    Code:
    local modname = ...
    local M = {}
    _G[modname] = M
    package.loaded[modname] = M
    this part is for module definition - without it, it won't be loaded as module, but it will be simple included to main LUA script.
    It's that same in every module, just copy&paste.



    Code:
    function M.test1()
    	print()
    	print("Welcome") end
    
    function M.test2()
    	print("Name loaded module:", modname) end
    Some functions printing meaningless text to terminal



    Code:
    --[[
    ###############################################################################
    ###                            MODULE MAIN LOOP                             ###
    ###############################################################################
    --]]
    more comments



    Code:
    function M.main()
    	M.test1()
    	M.test2()
    end
    MAIN function of every module - it's run by main LUA script after module is loaded so it need to be a "function M.main() ... end" in every modules.

    And why every function is preceded by "M." you could ask?
    Ah, it's special properties of modules - "M" variable stores module name ("M" as this variable was defined at the beginning in module definition) and indexes every function inside of that module which was connected to it.
    Every function inside of module is local and private but with this, it's name is available globally and function might be called from outside of module, but then it needs to be called by it's full name. Like "M.test1()" function from "test01.module" could be called inside other module by it's full name "test01.test1()".

    That's how functions from "flibs" are called, so developer can use some predefined functions from "flibs" without need for inventing wheel again.

    For example, if one need to know (x,y) position of point at 37 degree angle, at 78px radius circle with it's center at (230,117), then one invoke function from one4all_main.flib by:
    Code:
    local pointX, pointY = one4all_main.pointATcircle(230, 117, 37, 78)
    (there is "M.pointATcircle()" function in one4all_main.flib)
    No need to make calculations themselves. Simple and clean.
    Of course, one4all_main.flib must be in active directory, but at least that functions library is mandatory to be in active - without it, whole project won't work.
    Linux Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12.10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Lenovo T61, Intel X3100, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
    Linux user No.: 483055 | My Conky Pitstop corner | One4All project

Page 2054 of 2274 FirstFirst ... 1054155419542004204420522053205420552056206421042154 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •